CryptoTab - Another Crypto Browser and My Experience

0 19
Avatar for cryptoforcanadians
3 years ago

Pretty much everyone knows about the Brave browser and how you can earn BAT tokens just from receiving notifications of advertisements while  browsing the web. When looking through Publish0X’s site, you can see that there are numerous articles posted weekly pertaining to the Brave browser. These articles vary from an explanation of how the Brave browser works to articles on hacks you can use to can get more BAT tokens to articles breaking down why Brave isn’t paying out as much as they used to. As word of the Brave Browser had become more saturated, I decided to look for other crypto based browsers to test out and use. 

When I looked online, I came across a browser called CryptoTab. When I clicked on their link in Google, I was then directed to their homepage which looks like this: 

From their homepage, they claim to be the world's first browser with a Bitcoin mining feature built in and that they've already got more than 10 million users globally. After I had browsed through their site some more, I debated with myself for a bit over whether or not I should try it out. Ultimately though, I had decided to pull the trigger and just download it. I figured I that I would just give it a try and test it out for at least a day. If it didn't like it or if it wasn't what I was looking for, then I'd just delete it I thought. My reasoning was that I could at least write up a post or make a video about them sharing my experience.

After I installed it and opened the browser, it gave a brief explanation of how the browser works. Upon signing in with my Google account, I was then brought to an empty tab where it prompted me to start mining which is exactly what I was looking for.

Now just before sharing my results, here are some of the specifications of my 2018 Mac Mini just so you can use it as a baseline.

  • 3.2GHz 6-core Intel Core i7

  • Turbo Boost up to 4.6GHz

  • 12MB shared L3 cache

  • 16 GB of 2666MHz DDR4 SO-DIMM memory

  • Intel UHD Graphics 630

So after I had "mined" for pretty much just over a day (28 hours to be more specific), here are my results:

Essentially I made 10 cents worth of Bitcoin over the span of 28 hours. Having said that, I don't think that it takes a genius to figure out that it's not worth destroying my $1500+ computer just so it can spit out a measly 10 cents a day. In fact, I'm probably losing money as I need to pay for electricity to power my computer.

After looking at my results of "mining" on CryptoTab for a full day, it's safe to assume that this browser probably isn't going to be very popular among people who don't have devices with great hardware when they can just use the Brave browser; you can earn MORE from doing LESS. There must be someone who uses this browser though right? I would think that those 10 million global users that they've got are either people with some seriously badass hardware or they're just people like me who downloaded it, tested it out, and then deleted it. Well, I at least now know why there are so many articles about the Brave browser...

For those of you who are interested in a video I made about them, check it out here:

If you liked this article, please give it a thumbs up or share it with others! You can check out my other posts here: https://www.publish0x.com/@Cryptoforcanadians. Like what you see? Consider signing up with my link: https://www.publish0x.com?a=Mvbm9jpbYA.  

If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to leave them down below as I will respond. You can also contact me at crypto4canadians@gmail.com. You can also message me on Telegram @cryptoforcanadians or feel free to join my Telegram group where we talk crypto: https://t.me/crypto4canadians.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for cryptoforcanadians
3 years ago

Comments