Sexism in Crypto Spaces?

0 23
Avatar for cryptobyers
2 years ago
Topics: Women

It was one of the first things I noticed when first venturing into Crypto and it's something I still notice almost every day. Where are the women?

It often feels a bit disconcerting being the only woman in the room. You hear the way men talk when they don't think you're around because, well, they forget I'm there or just don't notice me. It's something I've experienced most of my life as a lifelong nerd and working as a woman in IT, but it never feels normal.

A lot of women I know don't want to enter these spaces because "that's for men." How will we establish a presence if we've already given it up to the men? Crypto enthusiasts are often referred to as "CryptoBros" but what are us women called? It's why I go around and call myself a CryptoGal, and it's singular because I often feel alone out here. The other reason I hear for why women don't want to be a part of it is because of rampant sexism. This I have also experienced firsthand on many occasions.

A lot of times the sexism I've experienced isn't targeted so much as just not being taken seriously in these spaces or simply being ignored. I've tested several times having my profile pic on various sites set to a selfie vs a graphic and I always get more interaction and sell more NFTs when it's set to a graphic.

It's honestly quite exhausting because I don't feel that there's any room out here for me to just be a woman, it's always business and how to make money. We need more women out here to liven up these spaces, and we need the men to listen to us and take us seriously.

To the other women out here: let me know in the comments if you agree or disagree, and feel free to share any personal stories of sexism you've experienced in crypto spaces.

1
$ 0.00

Comments