crypto_gam3r: Week 6 Splinterlands Earnings Update

0 11
Avatar for crypto_gam3r
2 years ago

Greetings Gamers!

Its time again for my Weekly Splinterlands Update! A full week has now passed with the new rewards cards in daily chests, and I personally think it makes working towards the daily chests more enjoyable. Getting a card almost everyday rather than a few DEC as before, will encourage players to complete their daily challenge and keep players interested in the game. Typically the cards value in DEC is higher than what I was seeing from chests before, meaning better earnings overall.

The other change at the end of last season to only payout season reward chests based on your current level, rather than the highest level attained in the season has dramatically changed my strategy for earnings. I now am less likely to rent cards, unless it is in the last 24 hours before season ends. This means I will have to focus on buying cards with my earned DEC, so that my power level for the season rewards keeps me in at least Bronze II. This should also in turn increase the value of my account, as I will no longer be spending DEC on rentals, but saving them to buy cards, which hopefully appreciate in value. 

Despite my endorsement of the reward chest changes, which I believe will lead to better long term profits, the charts today show a different picture, my account value and profit are both down for the week. So, let's take a look at my progress and discuss some factors that have caused the dip.

Goal Review:

My goal with this game was to see how much I can earn, in one year, from casually playing the game, which is what I will be documenting each week.  My only current investment is the initial $10 cost of buying a spell book, which unlocks earning DEC for winning ranked battles, Daily Quest Rewards, and Ranked Season Rewards. 

Account Value:

Here is a look at my current account value, which is calculated by adding my owned card value, current DEC value, and current SPS value:

Despite gaining rewards cards and accumulating DEC and SPS throughout the week, my account value dipped $2.06, for a 13.51% loss. 

Card Value:

Here is a look at my current card value, this is based on the current market price of each card I own:

As I mentioned before, I have been gaining cards pretty regularly since the new rewards cards have been launched. I was even fortunate enough to grab two epic cards, Exploding Rats and Naga Assassin, which I quickly sold as part of my strategy with these new cards, which is to sell early while the value is still high. I talked more about this in my Tuesday post, which can be read here

For the second straight week however, the card market is down overall. This has caused my owned card value to decrease. I am predicting that once these new cards start being combined and become less common, the market for both the new cards and old cards will start to rise. However, this could be a few weeks out.

DEC Value:

Here is a look at my current DEC value, which is calculated by multiplying my current amount of DEC by the current DEC market price:

The amount of DEC held will fluctuate as I use it to rent/buy cards to earn daily and season rewards. I also send 100 DEC each week to my guild to advance our buildings, which will later help me increase profits. The value of DEC has dropped slightly (-3.7%) over the last 7 days:

 

SPS Value:

I continue to claim and stake my SPS daily. This is the only place I increased value over the week, mostly caused by the value of SPS rising, as it gained 9.0% over the last 7 days and had a high this week of over $0.30.

 

Current Profit:

And finally, here is the true measure of the game, my profit:

With my in-game assets valuing $15.21, minus my investment for the Spellbook of $10.00, I am currently at a profit of $5.21. That is down $2.06, or 39.41%, from last week.

Conclusion:

So although my overall value and profit are down for the week, I am still bullish on the potential earnings in this game. I acquired a few new cards, the most notable being Sandworm, which will help me win battles, earn DEC, and advance higher in leagues, I am no longer renting cards, meaning any DEC I spend will be on cards I will actually own and I continue to earn more and more SPS each day, and collect the associated staking rewards. Slowly but surely the profits will come.

If you have not tried Splinterlands yet, I recommend giving it a shot. The $10.00 price of the Spellbook is worth unlocking rewards and is a relatively cheap entry into the world of NFT gaming.

If you enjoyed what you read, and want to follow my progress, be sure to follow me and consider hitting the tip button below! 

Fruitful Gaming!

the crypto_gam3r

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for crypto_gam3r
2 years ago

Comments