The 30-day Buying Rule

0 22
Avatar for criscribbler
1 year ago

It's Christmas time and Christmas sales are hunting us left and right. It's the season of giving so businessmen are grabbing the opportunity to hook buyers. With the 25%-50% discount on some top products, who wouldn't be tempted to buy the items?

A few weeks ago, I bought a branded black t-shirt through a famous online shopping app. I've always wanted to buy that shirt since it fits well on any color of pants or shorts, though I don't badly need it. It's just a personal want. I even ordered a pair of chic sandals. These were on 15% sale so I grabbed it.

The following day, we had our conference at work. It was about our upcoming Christmas party and the Town Fiesta events that we'll be participating in. With these activities, we were having a discussion on our monetary contributions. I suddenly remebered the items I placed online! Those will be an addition to my expenses.

My mother's birthday is also approaching. It will be her 60th so we need to prepare for it. Additionaly, in the days coming, my "mga inaanak" (godchildren) will be expecting for gifts. I will be in a tight budget this Christmas season. My bonus is already alloted for paying debts and other uses. I will be realigning my budget again to meet my needs.

Expecting more payables during Christmas season is actually not new to me. I just didn't learn the lesson enough. I was just complacent since I know that I'll receive bonuses.

With this situation, I promptly remember the 30-day buying rule (thought it's too late sometimes😁). I read this from articles online as one of the budgetting tips. This rule is only applicable on our wants or luxuries in life. Of course, the needs should be bought immediately. The rule says that if you really want to buy something but you're out on tight budget, you should give it a second thought. Just because it's on sale doesn't mean that you'll have to ruin your budget for it. With your other relevant expenses, you'll need to think of it first for 30 days or less before deciding. After that time frame, check yourself if you still want to buy the item.

I've already applied this to myself and it worked. Since I follow online shopping stores, it's sometimes inevitable that I get tempted in some on-sale items. This is one of the reasons that I often lost track of my budget. After thinking of it for 30 days or almost, my cravings were gone. I even decided to look for cheaper alternatives. Thanks to those piesces of financial advice I read and heard online. I've also realized that bargaining items is just a marketing strategy. So why not wait for the time when you can actually have the money for it.

I know that 30-day of thinking is too long. You don't necessarily have to follow the exact number of days. You can have it in two or three weeks before deciding specially if the item is costly. What this budgetting strategy implies is that we should learn how to create a budget for ourselves no matter how big or small our income is. We should consider our needs before indulging in our wants. It also teaches me to buy only the necessary things. We should always prioritize our needs. And if I really want to buy something, I should save for it.

It's not bad to spend for our luxuries, especially if we are working hard everyday. We must treat ourselves too. But we should not forget that our actions have domino effects. We should be careful in spending our money. If we will be out of budget before the next pay day comes, we will surely suffer. And there's no one to blame for it but us. As the saying goes, "Do not spend more than what you can afford."

Have a blessed Sunday to all the budgetarian ladies and men out there! Thank you for reading💛

The photo used was downloaded from pexels.com

2
$ 0.36
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for criscribbler
1 year ago

Comments