Growing out of comfort zone: MY PUBLIC SPEAKING JOURNEY

3 24
Avatar for criscribbler
1 year ago

Public speaking requires a high level of confidence and charisma. You should be ready with the numbers of eyes looking all over you. Above all, you must be prepared with the ears that may disagree with your discussions.

Most of the people I know are not comfortable with public speaking. It is a stenuous task that requires heavy preparation. Also, not everyone is open to criticisms. It's a brave thing to speak while everyone listens.

I, too, don't feel comfortable with speaking in the crowd. Though I am speaking in front of my classes everyday, I am still anxious to speak in front of a bigger crowd. It's in another level to speak in front of someone more life-experienced than me-- colleagues and parents.

I am given speaking tasks the entire Saturdays of this month. Together with the other trainees, I am tasked to cascade what we've learned from our Division-based virtual conference on language literacy last September. We've already started last Saturday and we still have two more weekend sessions to go.

It was my first time speaking in front of my co-educators in the district, though I'm already years in the service. Most of the time, I am just doing hosting jobs, which is more manageable than public speaking. With hosting, I am not required to speak for hours continuously.

The experience was not really easy. My audience know well of what they are listening to. Some of them are even more knowledgeable in the field for they are already years ahead in the service. I can still remenber when some of my listeners disagree on one of my explanations. I stumbled but pretended to handle it well. I was not prepared for situations like this. Though I already explained it further, still they insisted their side. Since I am the speaker, I tried my best to continue with my discussions, pretending to be unbothered.

I was ashamed of what happened. I was hurt. I felt disrespected. I took the situation against them, at first. But later on, I realized that I deserve the blame. I did not prepare enough for this big task. I was not able to prepare due to my teaching workload. But actually, I was lost due to my procrastination. I spent more time thinking how will I carry this it out than preparing for it. I was too complacent.

Initially, I was really uncomfortable with this task. I am not used to speaking in a big crowd. Though I am not bad in articulating, I lack the confidence. Maybe it's also due to my introvert personality. Oftentimes, I prefer to write than to speak.

Last Saturday, I was also given a speaking task during the First Quarter General Parent-Teacher Association (GPTA) Meeting. I was tasked to introduce our school's literacy program to the parents, since I am the shool's reading program coordinator. Luckily, the parents love the program and nobody objected its implementation.

Out from this experience, I've learned valuable leassons on public speaking which I can now share with you.

  1. Prepare ahead of time

    The quote, "If you fail to prepare, you prepare to fail" by Benjamin Franklin really hit me. I did not prepare enough in my task since I thought it will just go easy. But it didn't. Enough preparation will also lessen your speaking anxiety. Study your topic. Familiarize all of its aspect.

  2. Write your own script/cue card

    It is very important especially if you are not used to public speaking just like me. Write your lines in order to avoid experiencing mental block. However, do not everything to avoid confusion. Write only the parts of your talk. It will only serve as your guide in order not to get lost while talking.

  3. Know your audience

    This will help you in establishing rapport to your listeners. You will become aware on your choice of words. You will be able to adjust on your speaking behavior, too. You'll get to insert punch lines that they can all relate. You've got to be tactful in dealing with professionals and sweeter when dealing with kids.

  4. Be confident

    High confidence level is a must in speaking. You need to have a command of the language so your listeners will believe you. Feeling nervous is inevitable in a speaking task but you need to handle it well. That is what they called as grace under pressure. Good posture and relaxed face are indicators of confidence

  5. Smile often

    Based on my experience, smiling gradually fades stage anxiety. When we smile, we start to feel good. This is due to happy hormone released in our body called Endorphin. Before I start with my speaking task, I smile to make the audience comfortable with me and to let them know that I'm trying to be fine with what I am doing😁.

  6. Simplify your topic

    Before starting your discussion, make sure that you understand your topic first. If you don't understand your topic enough, you will not be able to explain it well to the audience. That will surely result in trouble. Also, it will become more difficult for you to settle differences of opinion.

  7. Be ready for disagreement

    Always be ready for disagreement. It's one of the main reasons why it's very essential to be well-verse on every detail of your discussion. Try to be calm when your audience disagree with you. It's a human nature. Address their disagreement respectfully.

  8. Dress appropriately

    Dressing-up is a kind of communication. If we are given speaking tasks, we have to dress appropriately, preferrably a formal or business attire. It will also leave them an impression that you prepare for this task.

  9. Rehearse

    Try to practice in front of the mirror or in front of your family members. If you're uncomfortable doing this, you can just practice talking in your room. Hear yourself on some flaws and on which part you need to improve.

  10. Ask the Lord's guidance

    Above all, do not ever forget to ask the Lord's guidance on your speaking endeavour. You may do all the necessary preparations prior to the event but it's the Lord's mercy that will grace your ways. Don't hesitate to ask for His guidance, and He will always be there.

Public speaking is not really an easy task that's why many refuse it. But when you accept this challenge, it will help you grow. It means facing your fears bravely.

Speaking in front of a larger crowd, helps me discover my potentials. This even make me more confident. Being assigned with a speaking task also implies that they have a trust on you. So don't waste the opportunity. Accept it and grow from it.

I still have two remaining speaking sessions these coming Saturdays and I have to prepare now while I still have ample time to do so. I am still nervous but I am braver now than my first speaking session.

Thank you for reading! Don't forget to comment below your similar experiences😊.

*The thumbnail photo was downloaded from Unsplash.

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for criscribbler
1 year ago

Comments

Relate ako nito, Hindi din ako comfortable nag magsalita in public, katulad nalang sah Church namin, gawin nila ako ganito ganyan tapos i refused kasi feeling ko hindi ko magagampanan ang tungkulin ko, parang nauunahan ako sah hiya,huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat sa pagbahagi ng karanasan mo sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat din sis, God Bless sayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago