Gift-giving: My Least Love Language

0 17
Avatar for criscribbler
1 year ago

Who doesn't like to receive gifts?

Whether it's big or small, everyone is eager to open wraps especially if received from loved ones.

It's also a good thing to give your loved ones a gift. It feels good to see them happy. Their smiles are way priceless. No matter how much it costs, it's the thought that truly counts.

However, no matter how good the idea of gift-giving is, not everyone is grateful enough. Recalling the classroom Christmas Party we had last December, exchanging of gifts is one of the activitie. When I announced to my students that I'll be joining them, they were excited. They were expecting that I'll give the best gift. Whoever will receive my gift (moneto/moneta) they thought aould be the luckiest.

Morever, I have a student who is PWD (Person With Disability). She is a late bloomer. She acts immaturely than her classmates. She also wanted to join the exchanging -of-gifts activity. But I know her classmate wouldn't like to receive gifts from her, so I decided to exclude her. I'll be the one to give her a gift instead so she'll not be left -out.

My moneta's whish list was an oversized t-shirt. I am not really good in choosing an item for a gift. Maybe it's the reason that I don't like to give one. I become very anxious and indecisive in choosing an item for someone. All I want is to impress my receiver. I don't want to receive any negative comment as they open my present. Moreover, I am not into wearing oversized t-shirt that's why I let my sister chose the item for me. The chosen item is really of good quality though.

Fast-forward, we already received our individual gifts. However, my heart shattered seeing that my receivers were not happy of my gifts. My moneta scornfully said that the t-shirt is too big for her. I didn't get it why she requested for an oversized one.

Moreover, my PWD student (another receiver) almost threw away the t-shirt that I gave her. She said that it doesn't fit her even of she hadn't tried it yet. I even asked her if she liked it but she said "No!" She just took back her word wjen some of her classmate reprimanded her for beong ungrateful.

I really cried deep inside. They didn't know how much time I invested just to choose the best item for them, even of I wasn't feeling well. Those items even exceeded on the agreed price, th0ugh I removed the price tag so they won't be intimidated.

Sometimes, I don't really get it why some are just too ungrateful. It should be thought and the presence that should matter. Maybe others are just too concern of the material things they can get or received.

Being reminded of the past related experiences, maybe I unconsciously got this from home. My mother is a kind of meticulous. For a lot of times, she really complained on the gifts that I gave her. I perceived it that she didn't like my gifts. Maybe I didn't choose thd best for her or she's just hard to please.

Nevertheless, it hurts not to be appreciated on the efforts you've made.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for criscribbler
1 year ago

Comments