Welcome Back

4 24
Avatar for craigy
Written by
3 years ago

If you’re new to this blog, this post might not make any sense. For many years, during my morning commute, I stopped at Great River Park in East Hartford, CT. I would leave for work very early, to beat the traffic heading south into Hartford. Once I crossed the Connecticut River, I was no longer subject to rush hour traffic. I was heading away from the city, and I had the option of traveling the back roads. In fact, traveling the back roads had the added advantage of letting me stop for breakfast at Maddie’s, a wonderful little family-owned diner.

Last week, when I was taking my car in for service, I left with more than enough time to stop at Great River Park and to have breakfast at Maddie’s. I wasn’t sure what I might find at the park. Earlier this summer, there were several inappropriate gatherings in the area near the park. Crowdsourced over social media, hundreds, perhaps a thousand people gathered in commercial parking lots just south of the park. One night, a couple of those people were shot by a couple others.

Great River Park has always been closed, wink wink, from dusk to dawn. I have hundreds of pictures taken from the park when the sun was nowhere to be seen. The only time I ever found the gate closed was when the park was flooded. For those that don’t know, Great River Park runs long the river shore, on the river-side of the levee that protects East Hartford from flooding.

It was fun to return to the park, to walk along the bike path and to snap a few photos. It was a little sad to see the increased signage and new rules. I guess it’s a good thing I retired when I did. I think I’d be upset to be forced to drive past the park from about October to April because a few people couldn’t play by the rules during a pandemic.

I hope you enjoy today’s gallery.

Updated signage at the entrance to the park.

Some of you know that I’ve walked out and taken quite a few pictures from that dock.

I’m glad I got those ictures when I did.

These signs were everywhere. I guess they don’t want you to forget that you could get locked in.

We’ve had a good amount of rain lately. I can only imagine that the dock extended much farther into the river a month ago.

Looks like the Great River Park maintenance crew has been a little lax.

It’s been a while since I’ve seen Hartford from this vantage point.

I wasn’t early enough to see the sunrise, but the lamps were still on

The fancy sign was here when I was still working. I took this to illustrate the levee.


That’s Charter Oak Landing, on the west (Hatford) side of the river.

There was a lot of debris in the river. Also, many signs that they’ve been clearing the damage. The walking/bike path was completely open.

The Colt Building and Dome

I was able to get a seat at the counter for breakfast. I apologize if you’re reading this during breakfast. Today, I’m having an apple.

That building is the Lincoln Financial Group. The illegal gatherings were in their parking lot.

It’s not an alligator, but the log and its reflection made me thing of one.

The blue sign mentions that the parking lot is subject to flooding.

Broken heart.

Sponsors of craigy
empty
empty
empty

24
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Khant
Sponsors of craigy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for craigy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Wow great brother... I subscribe you I think you back me..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank u

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brother your photos are so quality full...i love it. I hope you'll be a great photographer ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago