Good Morning

6 27
Avatar for craigy
Written by
3 years ago

Sometimes hugging the bed for half an hour longer in the morning does have its rewards. The misty morning has disappeared and the sun is poking its way through and this photo is the result, so what could be better. It has been a long while since I slept on and surprisingly saw that it was already 8.30 a.m., but does it really matter. I have no appointments, no-one is waiting for me and no longer a cat to greet me (and I do miss her even two months later).

My first action was to creep down to the cellar and take todays meat out of the freezer. Monday is always frozen as it keeps fresher because I buy it on Friday usually.

My neighbours are luckier. They do not have to find their food in the store, their store is the outside and there is always something green to eat somewhere. Yes I was out and about in the top half of the village yesterday where the chickens and goats walk wing in foot and I was glad to get out.

The chickens were also busy foraging for some hidden morsals, whatever they are. I think they are more into the seeds before they burst open and begin to grow. The rooster seemed to be having an afternoon sleep so the chickens were left to their own life. I suppose roosters do feel tired during the day, as they are the first to wake in the morning, one of their duties being to wake everyone else.

And yet another new arrival in the chicken run. I had never seen this one before. It is really surprising what those eggs contain. I suppose being a London girl and growing up in the big city, the only birds being pigeons or sparrows, chickens are still exotic for me.


Otherwise the cows were out in the fields making the most of the laid table, before it is covered by the Winter snow. Reflecting on last Winter I remember we only had about 2-3 days of actual snow. It was cold, but the snow stayed away. It would be great if this year we had a similar state of affairs. Snow for me would mean no more scooter journeys, not to speak of the wheelchair, and I would have to rely on the local train. It would not be a great problem, but not so convenient.

I took the usual route through the cemetery on my way and Autumn has certainly moved in

This morning I was wakened by the local gardener clearing our paths with his leaf blower. In the old days they would do it with special brooms combined with bunches of twigs. Today it is all mechanical and very noisy. The swishing of the brooms was much better. The grand finale is when the gardener arrives with his mega vacuum machine sucking it all away.

And let us not forget Christmas is just around the corner, so get your Christmas shopping done and begin to plan for your decorations. Am I too early? I think so, but according to various TV and radio stations we are constantly be reminded to start preparing for the holiday I cannot believe it, but every year the same old story. Buy, buy, buy and make sure that everyone has their presents, even if it is just in the name of doing it. I am not a believer, do not really celebrate Christmas as such but just like to have an excuse for some good food and relaxation. When all the stores are closed, there is not much else to do. I do not buy Christmas presents (with the exception of my two grandchildren) and do not need anything. As a golden oldie I am happy with what I have. Let's face it, it is only October and we have another two months before it arrives.

I wonder if our Covid invader realises that it is Christmas. I do not thing so. Our Swiss government gave out some new restrictions yesterday as cases are increasing to over one thousand a day, which is a lot for little Switzerland. Masks in all rooms available to the public and only 15 people allowed to meet together with the required space in between. As Mr. Swiss and I lead a somewhat secluded life, it will be no problem. Home office is now being recommended where possible.


And now I am off to get down to some serious work. Cannot sit at the computer all morning, have some hoovering, mopping and cooking to do. Of course there will be the afternoon visit to the stores (with mask) in the afternoon. So keep safe, take it easy and of course, do not forget your Christmas Shopping list.

#good-morning

4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of craigy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for craigy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

THANK YOU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

THANK YOU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good morning dear how are you .back my post please

$ 0.00
3 years ago

iam doing well

$ 0.00
3 years ago