After the Hard Part – #1LinerWeds

0 6
Avatar for craigy
Written by
3 years ago

I love her tail.


I’ll start with some good news. The exterior work on our shed is finished. I still have to hang the lightening detector (part of our weather station) and find a place to mount a small floodlight to shine on the entrance door, but the siding, roof and soffit work is done. If you’ve been following this project and want to skip the recap, drop down to paragraph four.

For such a small building, this project presented numerous challenges. The first phase required jacking the shed up and applying a waterproof membrane to the lower edge of the walls. The shed is in a tight corner, so I worked on two walls with less than 2' (61cm) between the wall and the fence. The doors had to be removed, built out ¾” and rehung. One doorway had to be raised so I can get my snowblower in and out easier, and the window had to be replaced. All of those things were upgrading what was already there. The final wall brought new work.

We wanted some protection for the entry door, specifically the barn door track. The original plan was to extent the roofline out about four feet, but shortages of pressure-treated lumber scaled that back to an 18” overhang. That left me with two tasks that I find annoying. Annoying task one – installing siding in the little triangle above that overhang. Annoying task two – installing soffit on the underside of that overhang. Task one required cutting siding on a long low angle. Task two required fitting J-Channel (the stuff that holds the soffit) in the space between the door track and the roof structure.

I finished siding the little triangle above the roof around noon. The Editor asked if I was going to stop for the day or keep going. My answer included an expression my boss from 30 years ago used to use. I told her that I was going to try to install the J-Channel.

“Once I get the channel installed, the soffit will go one-two-six.”


The expression held. The J-Channel, once installed, makes a track on both sides of the overhang ceiling. The soffit sheets are cut into panels and snap in the track. Once the J-Channel was installed, the soffit was up in less than half an hour. This post is part of Linda G. Hill’s fun weekly series One-Liner Wednesday. If you have a one-liner, If you would like to join in on the fun, you can follow this link to participate and to see the one-liners from the other participants.



Capping the ridge and covering the ridge vent membrane. It will take 29 of those shingles to get to the other edge,

And the ridge is finished.

In addition to cutting long low angles, working off the staging and over the roof was awkward.

OK, not quite finished, Those exposed nails will need a dab of roof cement.

The – Last – Piece – of – Siding!

This is why I wanted to do both jobs the same day. They both required some staging to work from.

I love her tail

Jinx, coming on for a landing.

Jinx has found his perch.


Bunny – I hope Rivergirl can see this.

Smokey running along one of the neighborhood fences

Every now and then (I’m sure there’s a schedule) the flags are lowered in CT for the virus victims.

Maddie’s park from Mitzi’s park. Mitzi was our first Irish Setter. She preferred the Family Park across from Veterans Park.

Believe it or not, there’s an airplane in the puddle at about 4-o’clock

After the rain, we walk.

I like the the guy riding the mower fits the curve of the sprinkler.

Done!

his might be the last of the double rose of sharon blossoms this year.

Sponsors of craigy
empty
empty
empty


7
$ 0.00
Sponsors of craigy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for craigy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments