A Reminiscence

1 32
Avatar for cpilosopotasya
2 years ago

Let me tell you something about myself.

I am a simple individual who is fond of simple things as my happiness are also grounded from simplicity. I grew up from a family with somewhat below average economic status so I always struggled to obtain what I like especially material things and even education.

In high school. On Saturdays and Sundays, I had to go with my mom to a vegetable section to wash and pack carrots for a vegetable dealer who would also pay me 100 pesos for a day's work. I was so underpaid because I was so young and I cannot do a lot compared to that of an adult. Well, that is how the boss justified my pay. My mom could not say anything. She had no choice and neither did I. We need to buy a kilo of rice and some banana (so rice won't be as plain) for our big family. My dad was displaced from his work in the mines that time so he cannot do much to support the family.

In college. I had to learn to earn a living and to live on my own most of the time. I remember working as a private tutor to some Korean children during my break time in school. My Korean bosses paid me weekly at 70 pesos per hour back then. The weekend was my favorite day as it is payday for me. I would be able to buy school supplies I need and keep some for 'miscellaneous' needs such as transportation fare, food among others.

After college. I was so blessed to be employed just after graduation (I was so lucky to attend despite the strong disagreement of my younger brother as attending the ceremony was regarded as a luxury). However while working, I had to support two (2) siblings who were both studying in college. I had to pay for a small room we are renting, both their school fees, our food and other things that need to be paid.

Now. I think I will leave the now for another time.

Despite all the austerity, I manage to enjoy life and be happy. I can say that life taught me simple joys of having a meal at least three times a day, being able to laugh at adversities and getting drunk with friends once in a while.

I am convinced that while I struggled for my family and myself, life taught me valuable lessons. As one Roman Stoic philosopher put it,

Life has taught me, is teaching and will teach me that as I live this difficult life, I will be resilient and find the joys of living it amidst its adversities.

--akoposipilosopotasya--

Image of Seneca the younger is from google.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for cpilosopotasya
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for the introduction. Looking forward for your posts the soonest. So philosophic, huh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago