A month into the free faucets hell : INTRO

0 7
Avatar for cookingwithbenoit
3 years ago

So, that was a social experiment : What's happening when you spend most of your days messing around with online free crypto currency faucets ?

Firstly, a disclaimer : This is not promotion for free faucet websites and definitely not financial advice. You should have a very reasonable way of dealing with your money. All mentioned websites in these series of articles are free of charge and you don't have to invest nor pay anything to use them. It will take some of your time, though.

Secondly, a statement : I run a business that has basically been shut down by the government of the country I currently live in. The local police officially told me my business is non-essential. I'm only allowed to deliver my products and open up for orders pickups, knowing that people are not supposed to go further away than 5kms (3 miles or so) from their homes. My business is located in the countryside. My direct neighbors are sheep. Needless to say, it's been very quiet lately and we're still on a lock-down for the next 6 to 7 weeks. But at least Granma is protected... Or not...

That said, I read some publish0x articles by @MaxHeadR and @LoveCrypto about crypto tokens being given away online and free faucets. For one of these websites, all you had to do was to give your email address and click once a day to get your free fragment of Litecoin (0.0001LTC or 0.02€). And you would get free money for as long as it lasts, and as long as you don't give this website a cent. Which is a critical information, here : don't send any money to these websites.

LTCMINER.COM

So I went on ltcminer.com, but first I fooled around to figure out where I was about to set foot. The scam-detector.com website is of good help in this regard. Their "website validator" gives you a rough idea of the credibility of an online platform. I recommend to visit this tool before you give away precious and personal pieces of information.

The keyword in ltcminer.com is "The system will invalidate if other free accounts are found." It will eventually claim you are using another account. In that case, just let it go and don't interact anymore with the website. The gig is over. Don't even think of sending money to buy one of their so-called "versions", you might lose your money.

I got paid 16 times (during 16 days in a row) with a direct payment on my Coinbase account (through a Coinbase LTC Address), up until the site claimed I was using another free account (which I wasn't) and prevented me to claim another day. This was the end of the road.

GAIN : 0.0016LTC or 0.33€

LTCMINER.ONLINE

This one is based on the same kind of offers. As soon as you add an LTC payment address and you  create an account with a password, it will start "mining" LTC for free. When you reach 0.0003LTC or 0.06€, you may be able to withdraw the amount to your wallet. It takes a week to mine 0.0002LTC and at this point, the mining stops : you'll never reach 0.0003LTC, unless you send them some money to buy more mining power, in order to get more LTC. Don't do that, keep your money and move on to something else.

GAIN : 0€

NEXT EPISODE : Argonclick and Perfect Money

 

Thumbnail image by Nithin PA from Pexels  

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for cookingwithbenoit
3 years ago

Comments