What I Just Got In the Mail | 3 Non-Fiction Travel Books By Simon Reeve and Sue Perkins

6 32
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago

Hi all...today I want to show you what I received in the mail. It's a parcel that contains three books I ordered from BookDepository.com sometime earlier this month (April 2022). I am a regular customer at Book Depository, but I only shop if I can't find certain books at my local bookstore or the title is unavailable in my Scribd.com subscription. I have been an avid reader since I was 8 years old, and I shared some of my reading lists in my previous post: May the Books You Read Light the Way | What's Inside My Book Totebag

I don't have a lot of material possessions. My tiny apartment has sparse furniture, but I have tons and tons of books lying around in the apartment. It used to drive my husband crazy because he didn't like reading. But as years went by, he slowly picked up the habit, and now he buys books almost every time we visit a bookshop 😆. I tried to tone down my book spending habit because books are fairly expensive in Malaysia. (It does carve out a small chunk of our monthly budget). To stave off the habit, I subscribed to Scribd.com ($9.99 per month) about 4 years ago and never looked back. It gives me unlimited access to one million titles, including ebooks, magazines, podcasts, news, and audiobooks.

But sometimes, I like to buy foreign titles that I can almost guarantee are nowhere available in Malaysia. For those who aren't familiar with Book Depository, it's a UK-based online bookseller that offers free shipping worldwide. It was founded by a former Amazon employee and was acquired by Amazon in 2011.

It took three weeks for the parcel to reach me. I don't mind the delay because, hey, it's FREE SHIPPING, remember? 😍

The parcel was securely wrapped in a thick cardboard box. It fits perfectly inside my mailbox. It contained 3 books - two of the books were written by Sue Perkins and another by Simon Reeve.

If you watched BBC, you might be familiar with both names. Both authors are my favorite travel journalists, and I have watched their documentaries for years.

Book #1: East of Croydon by Sue Perkins

East of Croydon is Sue's second book. The book follows Sue on her travels around South East Asia (specifically the IndoChina region), and India while making documentaries for the BBC. It also covers her dad's struggle with cancer and coming to terms with his death. I have watched her documentaries, The Ganges, and The Mekong River With Sue Perkins. I thought it would be fun to read her depiction of the landscapes she saw, the places she stayed, and the people she met throughout her adventures. I want to learn more about the environmental issues she encountered, like the dams in Cambodia and the struggles of the local communities.

Sue is a comedian, and I love her wit. She is not afraid to poke fun at herself, which is refreshing and real. I would love to have a funny friend like her 😘

Here's a trailer of Sue's documentary about the Mekong River.

Book #2: Spectacles by Sue Perkins

Spectacles is Sue's first book and a memoir. Obviously, I bought this to get to know Sue more 😅

Book #3: Step By Step by Simon Reeve

Here's an excerpt from Wikipedia:

Simon Reeve is a British author, journalist, adventurer, documentary filmmaker and television presenter. Reeve divides his home time between London and Devon. He makes global travel and environmental documentaries, and has written books on international terrorism, modern history, and his adventures.

I love Simon. Through his documentaries, he introduced me to some interesting countries and places. His documentaries are thought-provoking, and he always opened my eyes to issues I was unaware of, and often at the end of watching them, I felt grateful for the life I am having.

Here's a short clip from one of Simon's documentaries, The Americas with Simon Reeve.

And this is a complimentary bookmark from Book Depository 😘

_________________________________________________

That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

My First NFT Collection – Stencil 2017 – Is Now Available On OpenSea

My Second NFT Collection – Oli Kawaii Verse – Is Now Available On OpenSea

6
$ 6.08
$ 6.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
+ 1
Sponsors of coloringiship
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago

Comments

HI,Id like to read too,but I don't have any books aside from my books that contains christian beliefs and God's word.Its the only books that I have. But I was planning to order online,especially books about women . It's my first time to know about Simon Reeve and Sue Perkins. Reading is a good habit to developed,it can also help us to add our vocabulary.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are absolutely right. Reading makes us better writers. Feel free to check out BookDepository because it offers free postage but it will take at least 3 weeks to reach you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully I can check it out, right now,heheh I'm very excited to see books that are available online.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, I'm not much of a reader, but I can tell you seem really excited about these books you just acquired. And these authors seem to have splendid books I just read up on them after reading this article of yours. Nice to make uour acquaintance by the way.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I am very excited about these books and can't wait to start reading. I am glad my post inspires you to check them out too. Thank you so much for stopping by :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its my pleasure, I'll do well to stop by more often from now one😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago