This Is Our Life | Friday Is the Day to Eat Out, Buying Fruits and Candies, And A Book For Hubby

6 31
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago

❤️ Friday Is the Day to Eat Out ❤️

It's Friday, and usually, on Fridays, I am too lazy to cook lunch for the kids and I. It's not that I don't want to, but the school dismissed early, and I have to pick up the kids earlier than usual. My day starts right after the kids are off to school, slightly before 7 am, and includes flurries of activities; cleaning the house, washing and hanging the laundry, reading for an hour or more, planning my Hive post or arting, cooking, and most importantly, the one hour of workout that must be completed by 11.30 am. But today I must be at the school by 11.30 am to pick up the kids. So, since I am strapped for time, I decided not to cook lunch but eat out.

Friday traffic is usually heavier than other days, so we took a selfie while waiting for the traffic to ease up. It was drizzling since morning. It has been raining almost every day since June, and I wonder if global warming has changed our climate and shifted the rainy season to the middle of the year. It is unusual to get so much rain, especially when it is supposed to be the hot and dry season.

We headed to Puteri Mart, a local wet market located at Bandar Puteri. It's a common market you can see across South East Asia, so I don't need to show you around. But here is how it looks from the outside. The place is huge and divided into several sections. Half of the building houses a food court with various stalls offering street food and local cuisines. And that is where we are going to have our lunch.

The place is packed with people, but we found a table slightly away from everyone else. Although the country has eased up all restrictions, I am always aware of the Covid threat and make sure not to get too close to others. Sadly, most people don't seem to care and continue to walk around, sometimes maskless (in crowded and confined places) or not practicing social distancing.

My daughter decides to bring a storybook and read while waiting for the food to arrive. She just finished her exams this week and feels upset with her Maths and Arabic. She does well in the other subjects - Malay Language, English, History, Science, Design & Technology, Moral Education, but she thinks she will fail her Maths and Arabic. I told her that's okay as long as she did her best and she can try harder next time.

❤️ Dragon Fruits and Candies ❤️

After lunch, we went to the fruit stalls located at the section that houses the wet market. Fruits are an important part of our diet, and I make sure to replenish our supplies at home. I bought some dragon fruits at a low price - 6 for MYR10 (USD2.24). I was thinking of buying some of my son's favorite fruit, bananas, but I changed my mind. Perhaps I can buy that on Sunday or when we finish the dragon fruits.

We also stop at the candy stall to buy this sweet treat for the kids - the White Rabbit creamy candy! I have a sweet spot for these candies because, like many Malaysian who grew up in the 80s, these candies were part of our childhood. However, several years ago, the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia declared that these candies are non-halal and thus prohibited from being consumed by Muslims. I was unaware of this until I read a Facebook posting several weeks ago. Living in a multi-racial and multi-religious country, it is essential to take note of such news to avoid comitting faux pas, like offering non-halal food to the Muslims or food with beef to the Hindus.

❤️ A Book In the Mail for Mr. Hubby ❤️

When we reached home, I saw a parcel at our door, and I knew the content. A forex trading book for my husband that he bought recently. My husband used to write on Steemit, albeit sporadically, but he abandoned it after several months because he couldn't find time to post with his hectic work schedule. But that doesn't stop him from looking for side gigs to supplement our income. For the past two years, he has been moonlighting as a forex trader at night. He earns okay but thinks he needs to learn more about strategies, hence the book. I truly appreciate his effort, and I am blessed to marry such a hardworking and responsible man. I hope this book will help to improve his trading skills and limit his loss 😉.

_________

That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

My First NFT Collection – Stencil 2017 – Is Now Available On OpenSea

My Second NFT Collection – Oli Kawaii Verse – Is Now Available On OpenSea

2
$ 0.33
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.01 from @Esthery97
Sponsors of coloringiship
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago

Comments

Sounds like a great Friday :) It's quite cute that your young daughter is getting stressed out over Math and Arabic but like you, I believe she will make it.

It is nice too that your husband is keen on learning more about trading, that's a great attitude I think.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She dislikes Math but I believe she just needs more practice. Yup, hubby has been gaining a lot of new skills since reading the book. Thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's good to have fun with family by going out eat out once in a while I hope you had fun with you kids

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. I do love to eat out but with the prices of everything going sky high these days, I try to minimize it. Thank you for dropping by!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your daughter was reading a book while eating, it's better, than having a cellphone, heehheh, my kids were holding phones while eating sometimes and it makes my temper goes higher. Anyway, you had a very nice day with your family, is the candy inside the car is called white rabbit?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My kids do use gadgets, it just so happened on that day she brought a book instead. Yes, it's white rabbit candy. I am sure it's quite common in the Philippines too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago