I Found A New Site to Sell My Art - Artmajeur

4 18
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago
Topics: Artist, Art

Hi all...yesterday I talked about reactivating my Artfinder shop and sent a request to Artfinder and today, I received a reply from them. This is their email content.

So basically, they are telling me they had deleted my shop and wanted me to reapply as a seller. I am okay with that but when I looked at their Artistic Quality Guidelines, I felt very intimidated. And now, I don't think I will return to the site, and I am back to square one. I looked at a few other places like Saatchi Art, ArtPal, ArtFinder, and even the old Etsy, but nothing interested me. And I found a Youtube video about another site I have never heard of before, Artmajeur. I did a little reading and was surprised to learn that that had been in business for two decades. They are based in Paris, France.

When deciding on which site to sell on, there are several factors I need to look at, including:

  1. type of art that can be sold

  2. commission fee

  3. site traffic

  4. seller plan

Type of Art That Can Be Sold

Artmajeur welcomes everyone, professional or amateur artists. And these are some of the things artists can sell on the site:

  • painting

  • drawing

  • sculpture

  • photography

  • textile art

  • digital art

I think those things cover almost everything, and it's great that they make an effort to include textile art or sculpture. Many sites only focus on selling fine art paintings, which is not inclusive and is a little bit snobbish, IMO. Here's a sample of textile art from the site.

And on top of selling the original art, sellers may diversify their income streams by selling the print reproductions of their art (print-on-demand) and digital licensing. How cool is that? It's pretty unheard of for art marketplaces that offer digital licensing opportunities. To those unfamiliar with digital licensing, it means people can 'rent' your art to be used on their websites and in advertisements.

Seller Plans and Commission Fees

There are two selling plans - basic (free) and platinum ($4.58/month). Both plans offer an unlimited number of artworks posted. However, the premium plan provides more in-depth features such as selling on Facebook or Instagram, details statistics, and more. I think I will go for the basic plans for now because I don't see the need to upgrade unless it's truly necessary. Now, what about the commission fees? The commission fee for the basic plan is 35%, and 30% for premium. Those are pretty standard, except that it might be slightly lower than other marketplaces (Aftfinder's free plan takes 40% commission and 33% for paid plans).

Site Traffic

Artmajeur has been in business for a long time and it's quite a well-known website. They claimed to have 700K unique visitors per month. I think that's a pretty great number.

I already signed up for the site, but posting anything will take a while. I need to figure out the shipping fees and stuff like that. Things have changed a lot since I shipped out anything overseas, and the shipping fees might have increased slightly by now.

Anyway, enough talking about Artmajeur, I am sure this post is pretty boring already. Nothing much to update about today's activity except that I went for my routine follow-up with my doctor at the hospital early in the morning.

And here's a picture of my dinner tonight. Nothing fancy, just a simple vegetable dish with rice.

____________

That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

My First NFT Collection – Stencil 2017 – Is Now Available On OpenSea

My Second NFT Collection – Oli Kawaii Verse – Is Now Available On OpenSea

2
$ 0.28
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @ZeroRequiem
Sponsors of coloringiship
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago
Topics: Artist, Art

Comments

I like the Oli Kawaii verse <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm happy I came across this article. I want to sell my digital arts and photography, but I don't have that much time and energy to mint it to NFTs so I think this kind of marketplace is a good one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Give Artmajeur a try. They do accept photographs and digital arts. Perhaps you can land some art licensing deals. Good luck!

$ 0.00
1 year ago