House Hunting | We Decided to Move Out After Unpleasant Experiences With Neighbors

4 25
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago

Hi all...for the past few days I have been busy and couldn't spend time reading and commenting here. After a series of unpleasant incidents with our neighbors (more on that later), my husband and I decided to find a new place to stay. So I have been busy house-hunting since Sunday.

Unpleasant Neighbor 1

We have been staying at this walk-up apartment for the past 4 years. The rent is very affordable, and it is near the kids' school and my hubby's office. We have no personal issues with any of our neighbors. Still, I have to be honest that I am not very comfortable with the religious practices of one particular neighbor. This family is staying right downstairs, and to their credit, they have been keeping their compounds clean all the time. But the thing is, they would perform their religious duties that involved burning incense twice a day. The smoke from those incense would last at least 30 minutes to one hour. Now, it doesn't smell bad, but the aroma is strong and intense, which I hate. And it blows straight up to my windows because we live right upstairs. Yes, we do close our doors and windows while they are burning it, but I think after four years of being respectful and tolerant of others' religious beliefs, I have had enough. I feel forced to close my windows, and it annoys me that I have to be the one to give in all the time. Malaysia is a multi-cultural and multi-religious country. And being a true blue Malaysian, I respect everyone's religious beliefs. I will not prohibit or persecute (or say anything bad about) anyone for practicing what they believe in. Still, deep within, it annoys me greatly. So the only way to be at peace with this is for us to move out and let them practice their religion in peace.

Unpleasant Neighbor 2

This new neighbor lives right upstairs from us. Two things contributed to their unpleasantness:

1) Unwashed litter box

Now, I am a cat person and so do my kids. But we can't keep one because of my son's health issue. I have nothing against anyone having fur babies except for this one thing. They keep the litter box on the balcony, and they don't clean it regularly. You can guess what happened. The shitty litter odor would waft through my windows several times a day. We complained to the management, and they cleaned up a bit, but it's still happening.

2) They clogged their toilet, and the leakage drips down to my bathroom

This would be the straw that broke the camel's back. We made several complaints to the management. After investigating, they found the toilet was clogged because of used sanitary pads. I don't have to explain this further. It's too disgusting.

You just draw your own conclusion about this neighbor's sense of hygiene.

I have had enough, and it's time to move out.

Of course, there are other reasons, such as my kids are growing up and need their own privacy. We need a bigger space, and the kids need their own rooms. Both have been bickering at times because one or the other invaded his or her privacy.

Where Did I House-Hunt?

We don't intend to move far from here. We have set our sight on an upscale neighborhood on top of the hill, less than 1KM from here. This residential area is called Seri Puteri Hills, located in Bandar Puteri Puchong. Here is the promotional video of the place.

And some photos of the townvillas. Photo source: IOI Properties.

Do we intend to move to one of these luxurious villas? Of course not! We would never afford that. A month's rent would be at least MYR3000 (USD688) on a basic unit. We plan to rent an apartment in a nearby and more affordable condominium. There is a vacant unit and I have called the property agent to make an appointment to view the place this Saturday. I hope the viewing will go well...crossing my fingers 😊

And here's a video I took of the road leading to the place. This residential area is quiet, has a low population density, and is full of trees! It's a great place for families.

This place is about 2KM to the Ayer Hitam Forest Reserve and Taman Wawasan Recreational Park. And that is another reason why we love this place.

_________________________________________________

That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

My First NFT Collection – Stencil 2017 – Is Now Available On OpenSea

My Second NFT Collection – Oli Kawaii Verse – Is Now Available On OpenSea

5
$ 4.57
$ 4.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
Sponsors of coloringiship
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago

Comments

Here's hoping you find the right home for your family!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I would been there in your apartment,my decision is the same ,to leave.It wasn't a healthy environment if your neighbors are not responsible enough to do their thing. I like the views in the video,it's full of green scenery.I understand how you feel,we,as mom's just wants what's better for our family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still can tolerate my downstairs neighbor, but the cat shit odor and the leaking sewage are too much for me to bear. The landlord has agreed to repair the leakage but I still want to move out. The only thing I feel reluctant of doing is to pack our things. That's going to involve a lot of work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago