You Can Have Fun With English Words

5 74
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

English words are fun! Don't you think so? Even if English is not your native tongue. When I was in elementary school as a method of enriching our vocabulary and improving our word skills, the teacher would send us home with a list of about 10 words. The homework assignment was to look up the definition of the words in the dictionary, write down the word and the definition, and write a sentence we made up using the word. Thinking back on it, I realize that it was a very good exercise.

What I Learned Watching Korean Drama

Several years back I watched a historical period Korean drama about a king who had a dream: “Tree With Deep Roots” (2011). He dreamed of a nation where everyone could read and write. Even poor people! It was a radical move! The nobles and scholars vehemently opposed him. They were willing to kill people over this! They even killed the king's son! Can you imagine?

To say that others disagreed with his ambitious endeavor would be the understatement of the century. Nevertheless, because he was fiercely determined, he accomplished his goal. He devised a system of 28 alphabets and from those letters, all words could be created. Sounds marvelous, doesn’t it? Watching that series really made me appreciate the ability to speak, read, and write in my native tongue, i.e. English.

What I Learned When I Had No Internet Access

What do you do when you don’t have the Internet? Oh! I don’t know! Clean your house? Read a book or a magazine? How about … learn some new words? Where’s my dictionary? (Actually I don't have a dictionary. I have a lexicon.)

Unlike the Korean alphabet, our American English alphabet is 26 letters. Our words are derived from the languages of various civilizations: French, Latin, Greek, languages of the Native Americans, etc. The creation of most of the words we speak rest on 5 of the 26 letters, which we call vowels. A – E – I – O – U. Sometimes the letter Y is considered a vowel. But for purposes of this discussion, we will count it as a consonant.

Entertainment and Education

I started out entertaining myself by scanning pages of my old lexicon and honing in on words I didn’t know. Then I thought to myself, many members of online social communities where I am an active member, are non-English speaking. Why not share my treasure finds with them? There are also some members who speak “the real English”. Per my late husband, there’s real English and then there is the English that Americans speak. Those community members who speak “the real English” might enjoy my findings as well.

So I’ve published this series of short posts. Why isn’t the series longer? Well because I got my Internet back. LOL. I looked up the meanings of “5 English words” for each vowel. The pattern if you can’t detect it is the first vowel in the alphabet paired with the first consonant in the alphabet; second vowel with the second consonant; third vowel with the third consonant, etc. Similar to my homework assignment from elementary school, wrote down the word, the definition, and used the words in a sentence.

One last note. Keep in mind that some of the words I found, you probably won’t use in casual everyday conversation. But if you love to play word games like Scrabble, they might come in really handy! (Best Word Games | BoardGameGeek)

Below are the links to my post series:

**Original source: Content was previously published on 100Springs.com

Thanks for reading.
Find me on Noise.Cash.

If You Liked This Article, You Might Also Like:

Why You Should Learn to Speak French ~ https://read.cash/@cmoneyspinner/why-you-should-learn-to-speak-french-b3db0936

Sponsors of cmoneyspinner
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.09
$ 0.06 from @Porwest
$ 0.02 from @rebeysa85
$ 0.01 from @Itsfarah
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Comments

Being that I have been writing since I was eight, of course I have a very fond bond with words. Some may not find English to be the most romantic of languages. But certainly I think it is one of the most diverse.

There are simply a million ways to say the same thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL. You made me think of something. Years ago I was listening to a preacher and he made statement. Then he said something else. But it was pretty much the same thing. Then he said something else and then something else. Then he said "I figure if I state my point in different ways, you're bound to understand at least one of my statements." 😄 😄

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like this. 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

English is not my native language but still I am learning it more and more to have a sound grip on it.The series you shared will surly help people to learn more about English words.I will definitely go to learn,thank you for link.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. Thanks for your comments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago