Now That You're Perfect, What Comes Next?

3 47
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

We all set goals to achieve self-improvement. OK! We've reached our goals and we're perfect! What comes next? šŸ¤”šŸ¤”

An old man once asked a young man what was he going to do with his life? The young man gave an immediate answer for what he intended to accomplish in his life. Each time he would give an answer, the old manā€™s response would be ā€¦Ā ā€œWell fine! What then?ā€

The young man pretty much had an answer for everything he was going to achieve for his entire life but he finally answered the old man andĀ ā€œWell I guess after that Iā€™ll just die.ā€Ā The old manā€™s response was ā€¦Ā ā€œWell fine! What then?ā€

There is probably supposed to be some sort of spiritual lesson about the afterlife based on this conversation. But for this article, Iā€™m not going to try to venture out that far. The story led me in a different direction. Iā€™m just wondering, with those all of these blogs, articles, books and lectures by motivational speakers about self-improvement,Ā if and when you do achieve your self-improvement goals, do you then ask yourself ā€¦ Whatā€™s next?

Scott Young wrote an article titled ā€œWhatā€™s Beyond Self-Improvement?ā€ He doesnā€™t list any credentials next to his name like MD, PhD, whatever! Iā€™m assuming heā€™s a writer of general topics just like me.

Briefly summarized his articles states:

Most self-improvement objectives are born out of struggle. He says that when some people are struggling in their life, itā€™s the ā€œstruggleā€ that keeps them motivated and thatā€™s what pushes them each day. But once they have achieved what they set out to do that ā€œenergizing forceā€ or that ā€œmotivating tensionā€ which was the reason they got out of bed each day, isnā€™t there any more.

So? So ā€¦ you need to go BEYOND self-improvement.

He says that when that ā€œtensionā€ disappears, you just need to create ā€œnew strugglesā€. Thatā€™s not to say you intentionally make your life difficult so that you can become energized once more. What most people do is take on other peopleā€™s struggles. I mean ā€¦ for you, life is good! But for someone else, life is not so good. Maybe you could help them overcome their struggles.

Mr. Young says his ideas are nothing new sinceĀ ā€œEvery major world religion encourages something beyond self-improvement.ā€

ā™¦
Iā€™m glad he wrote that statement because at this point in the article, I was just starting to thinkĀ ā€˜Thereā€™s something awfully familiar about what this guy is saying.ā€™ šŸ¤”šŸ¤”

Of course, itā€™s familiar since written records of religious beliefs, as well as philosophies, have been around for over 5,000 years. And thatā€™s just the stuff thatā€™s written. Weā€™re not even talking about oral traditions.

I do follow a rule that if I can help someone who is struggling, I will. But I canā€™t say that after reading this article I was motivated to bring back the ā€œtensionā€ by creating any ā€œnew strugglesā€, nor by taking on the struggles of someone else. However, I was motivated to a quick search on the Internet to find some quotes lifeā€™s struggles. Iā€™ll share them and you can tell me which quote is the one you can relate to the most. I relate to Number 4.

(1) ā€œEmbrace the struggle and let it make you stronger. It wonā€™t last forever.ā€
~ Tony Gaskins

(2) ā€œWhen you learn to see your struggles as opportunities to become stronger, better, wiser, then your thinking shifts from ā€˜I canā€™t do thisā€™ to ā€˜I must do this.ā€™ā€
~ Toni Sorenson

(3) ā€œSelf-realization demands very great struggle.ā€
~ Swami Sivananda

(4) Donā€™t compare your struggles to anyone elseā€™s. Donā€™t get discouraged by the success of others. Make your own path and never give up.ā€
~ MJ Korvan

What do you think? Which quote do you relate to?

Thanks for reading.

NOTE:Ā My original contentĀ previously published elsewhere on the web.

Find me on Noise.Cash.

Sponsors of cmoneyspinner
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @Librarian
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Comments

I suppose for me the word I tend to use instead of struggle, is "challenge." What's next? The next challenge, and like the article suggested, when there isn't one, you create one. For me, part of the joy of living is having something challenge me that I need to figure out or overcome.

It's what keeps me going, and makes me want to get out of bed every morning and continue forward.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I relate mostly to the 3 first! Because the last one, the one you prefer of all... the last one says: "Don't compare your struggles to that of others". I disagree on that point. I think we should look at others, both their successes and their failures. We also learn and improve ourselves by helping others. So comparing our struggles to what others are experiencing is still beneficial.

But all four phrases are wise and positive. Getting out of our comfort zone and expanding our scope is difficult!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Now I realize I may have phrased that point correctly. What I meant was some people have a habit of thinking that since they have done the "same thing" as someone else, they should pretty much have the same experience and result, Then they get frustrated when it does not happen. They constantly compare themselves to others so much and it becomes a point of frustration because the same things are not happening.

Thanks for commenting. I appreciate it very much.

$ 0.01
2 years ago