My Foodie Luv: Do You Have Your Own Chai (Tea) Recipe?

0 37
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
6 months ago

(BACKGROUND NOTE: The reason why the word "tea" is in parentheses. For years, I used to say "chai tea" but my Indian friend corrected me. She said "chai" means "tea". So when I say "chai tea", I'm actually saying "tea tea". In my defense, I'm not the only one making that funny mistake. But now that I know better, I'll share this content. 😊)

Do you have your own recipe for chai (tea)?

Growing up in America there was only main tea (that I knew of). The brand name was Lipton. To my late sister’s credit, she made great tea! Her hot tea or her iced tea were both dee-licious! However … it was just Lipton tea.

I can only remember Lipton orange pekoe tea on the store shelves as a child (I can even remember the commercials), but these days the grocery store shelves and the company’s official website, display a variety of teas: green tea, matcha tea, berry hibiscus, etc. I clearly understand why Lipton now offers different teas to choose from. Lipton used to dominate the market for American tea drinkers. But times have changed and the American taste buds have changed and now we drink a wide range of teas. Our grocery store shelves are loaded with every kind of tea imaginable. If you can’t find what you’re looking for in the local grocery store, then surely you can find a tea online and/or a video on how to brew your “special cup of tea”..

Which brings me the main point of this article.

Do you have a "special recipe for your chai (tea)"?

I just discovered chai (tea) a few years ago but evidently, it's been enjoyed by people for an eternity. What happened was that my late husband stopped drinking coffee and opted to begin drinking tea instead. That led him on a quest to find a particular tea that he liked and that he believed would contribute positively to his health. One thing led to another and he eventually discovered chai (tea).

However, being my typical husband, that meant that I couldn’t just go to grocery store and pick up a box labeled “Chai” and bring it home. Oh no! Certain chai has this ingredient or that ingredient, and he wants this or that … yadda yadda yadda. So he came up with his own chai recipe.

I’m like: “You made up own recipe? Isn’t that like … UN-Indian or something?”

Guess what? There are lots of people who drinks what they call “chai”, Indians or non-Indians, who have their own special recipe for this drink!

I found these comments in a forum where I am an active member:

* Per @mandeep4687:

“ … “Masala Chai” in India which can be made by adding Indian spices such as elaichi, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, milk, sugar and herbs to your everyday black tea.

* Per @ksridharprasad

Air India national carrier of India wish to introduce Indian traditional food on board to their passengers soon, Now they are offering … Lunch and Dinner with masala chai (Tea). …

* * *

Are you a tea drinker?

Do you have your own chai (tea) recipe?

If not chai, do you have your own special tea recipe?

Do you prefer your tea sweetened or unsweetened?

he wonderful world of teas is fascinating! Don't you agree?

CHECK OUT THESE VIDEOS AND LINKS.

What Is Chai Tea? Origins, Ingredients, and Brewing Tips | Sencha Tea Bar

5 Surprising Health Benefits of Chai Tea | Madura Tea

Chai A-Z: A Full Guide to Each Type of Chai | Kimbala

Sanjeev Kapoor Khazana. “Irani Chai | Sanjeev Kapoor Khazana.” YouTube, 23 Jan. 2018, www.youtube.com/watch?v=OT-8p72ASUc.

Sanjeev Kapoor Khazana. “Masala Chai (Indian Masala Tea).” YouTube, 11 Jan. 2011, www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVmV1tJ1YPo. ‌

Culture Recipe. “Chai Masala Powder - Secret Ingredient of Flavoured and Aromatic Indian Tea | Winter Special.” YouTube, 17 Nov. 2016, www.youtube.com/watch?v=MZZ3tkC4LZU. ‌

Thanks for reading.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
6 months ago

Comments