My Favorite Four (4) Free Ad-Supported Streaming (FAST) Platforms

0 58
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
10 months ago

At one time I thought that ad blockers had ruined everything. After all, advertising has always been one of the main ways to generate revenue. But I knew advertisers would figure out a way to work around the block. One of the ways was to display ads via streaming platforms.

For me that workaround is fantastic! My kids will actually subscribe and pay for various streaming sites. WHY? According to them, the different streaming platforms have certain content that is not available on the other platforms. Well! Maybe my kids are willing to pay for the subscriptions because they can afford it. But I can't because I live on a fixed income. So I search around for lots of free stuff.

I don't mind watching movies and TV shows with ads. I grew up when television was the brand-new technology of the day, Sponsors and advertisers were why I did not have to go out to a movie theater. I could enjoy television programs in the comfort of my home. Actually, sometimes the TV commercials were more fun to watch than the program. Movie and TV shows with ads? Hey! It was a trade-off and the ads were not really intrusive and did not spoil my viewing pleasure.

Fast forward from the 1950s to the year 2000 and beyond. When they introduced free ad-supported streaming platforms, I thought to myself: 'Ah well! They've completed the circle and now folks in this generation get to watch TV the way I did during my generation.' LOL.

Many of the popular streaming platforms, like Netflix, are now offering ad-supported subscription plans at a reduced price. That's cool! But why pay for an ad-supported plan at a reduced price when I can get an ad-supported plan, free, and no subscription is required?

One of my kids gave me an Amazon Fire TV for Christmas (about 5 years ago, 2018-ish) and that's how I discovered the free ad-supported streaming (FAST) platforms.

  • For one thing, they each have Live TV channels, which include news channels (local, world news, and business), as well as entertainment channels (movies, TV series, documentaries, etc.).

  • They even offer their own “original” content and you don't have to pay to watch.

  • What is the best feature, as far as I am concerned, is they all offer Korean dramas, British TV (mysteries and comedy shows), and vintage content (“vintage” means stuff from back in my day when programs were still in black and white).

♦♦

There are lots of FAST platforms but below are my favorite four (4).

I've already listed above the reasons why they are my faves. But I am sharing informational links so you can see what others have to say about them.

(1) Tubi TV

Owned by: Fox Entertainment (Rupert Murdoch)

Launched: April 2014

Tubi: Is It Really the Free Netflix?

(2) Pluto TV

Owned by: Operated by the Paramount Streaming division of Paramount Global.

Launched: March 2014

What is Pluto TV? Pluto TV Overview - SmartMove

(3) The Roku Channel

Owned by: Roku, Inc.

Launched: September 2017

5 cool things you didn't know you could do with a Roku

(4) Freevee

Owned by: Amazon

Launched: January 2019

IMDb TV Rebranded as Amazon Freevee – The Hollywood Reporter


📺 📺 📺 📺 📺

RELATED LINKS:

Free Ad Supported TV: A Guide to FAST Streaming Services – MNTN

Best Free TV Streaming Services: Pluto TV, Plex, Tubi and More - CNET
📺 📺

FUN FACTS ABOUT “VINTAGE TV VIEWING”:

  • The world's first public colour TV service began in the USA. Colour television was available in select cities from 1954 using the NTSC (National Television Standards Committee)-compatible colour system championed by RCA.” (Source)

  • 1961 was the last year in which the majority of Hollywood films were released in black and white.” (Source)

  • In the 1970s, studios began toying with the idea of colorizing classic black-and-white films, such as Orson Welles' best movie Citizen Kane and It's a Wonderful Life.” (Source)

  • Over the years, many classic films that were originally photographed in black and white have been colorized. Media mogul Ted Turner led this effort in the '80s, and since then other companies have gotten into the act, typically with public domain titles like My Man Godfrey (1936).” (Source)

📺 📺

Do you use FAST platforms for your entertainment?

2
$ 0.12
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
10 months ago

Comments