Opensea and Metamask seems blocking Russian citizens !

2 40
Avatar for clixmoney
2 years ago

I'm not sure about this news, but I would like to share my awareness about the crypto world and how it's turning to a political tool to block the access of some people.

Can we talk about any decentralization after all this. I know that maybe ethereum is no centralized, but what's going on with services built on it make me worry. We've been always told that our keys, our crypt, but it seems it's not always the case if we are using an application on the blockchain.

I was experimenting with some NFTs to sell on opensea and I couldn't sign the transaction with metamask today. I tried that in another browser with a VPN and that worked. I don't know if the issue is because of sanctions on Russia, but I found a video discussing even if ethereum is centralized or not. You can watch the video here : Is Ethereum too Centralized?. I also found this news and it seems real : OpenSea confirms it will block accounts hit by U.S. sanctions. Even users from Venezuela Users from Venezuela and Iran cannot access MetaMask and OpenSea. Of course, I worry about Russia because I live in it, but imagine that hit on Venezuela and I know that we have so many people posting here from Venezuela. I mean big countries may solve their problems somehow because of sanctions, but little countries ? Really ? And they act like they are saving some of them ?

I really don't like that politicians are involving now crypto in their manipulations. That can really hurt all crypto community. Because if they did that for one country, what are the guarantees that they will not to that to another.

And in the close future they may put sanctions on individuals. They just start that by countries and when they will move to individuals, we will see how those who are in crypto and supporting sanctions now, will support sanctions against individuals after.


There is a great saying I know : ''Don't don't dig a pit for your brother, you may fall in it yourself''

3
$ 3.03
$ 2.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @foryoubtc09
Sponsors of clixmoney
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for clixmoney
2 years ago

Comments

It's ridiculous that political decisions affect crypto, countries today, individuals tomorrow, so what's the difference from the bank. Just like his sports getting involved in politics, there were countries and clubs that were blocked because politicians got involved in sports, but now sports are involved in politics!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, politics ruin everything that touch it. It's evil. I hope most crypto community and especially developers will think of better decentralization, but not to be puppets of the politicians.

$ 0.00
2 years ago