My past experience as a runner

0 16
Avatar for claudio83
2 years ago

I am happy with the return to the #sportingmemories thematic contest because in my teenage life I dedicated a lot of time to sport, I was strongly motivated to become a sportsman but I didn't really know which discipline. So I tried many disciplines: football, volleyball, basketball, swimming, running and gym. I have always committed myself with great determination but in the long term I cannot stay constant and the situation has worsened for a couple of years, I have literally become lazy!

But at the age of 18 I was particularly good at running, I trained 3 times a week (Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday) and was joined by my father, a runner for 30 years, who further stimulated my passion. On Sunday morning we used to join a very dense group of runners, about 30, all friends of my father, registered with a local sports association of the discipline. The starting point was a tennis sports center which was located in the suburbs and from here you could choose different routes based on the length and difficulty of the route: 10 km, 14 km, 16 km and 21 km. After a few months of training, I managed to complete the 16-kilometer lap with the group, without falling behind. A good result given the many years of athletic training of the runners.

It was 2002 and I participated in my first race called Vivicittà held in the city of Bari, a 10 km course in the center of the metropolis, a very famous race and every year about 10 thousand runners, high-level professionals from all over the world participated. the the European and African continent. I participated in the beginner's edition, being my first competition and not being registered in the professional register. The route was not difficult, I was trained, and I started at my pace: my strategy was not to start very fast immediately because the probability of having difficulties in the first 2-3 km would have been higher. And so I went at a standard speed, without acceleration, up to km 6 and then I decided to start increasing the pace.

When you are in the race, you don't know how you are actually doing, a lot of athletes overtook me, others I managed to put them behind me. I remember well that I had taken a good pace but I found great difficulties in climbing a long bridge and with a good slope. Usually in these stretches you change pace: short and with a higher frequency. Taken by the desire to continue at a good pace, in the middle of the climb I felt a great difficulty in moving my legs: they felt heavy, as if they were made of stone, I was in full crisis and I wanted to give up. But the finish line was not far and with great willpower, rather than physical, I continued at a slow pace and only 500 meters from the finish I resumed the previous pace and kept it until the end.

I arrived exhausted, I thought I had done double the kilometers, but I paid for the inexperience and the management of my emotions. But in the end I got an excellent result: 56'23 "which is not bad time to be in my first race. To be clear, I was better than many athletes in my father's group. The first classified instead finished with a time of 32 about minutes.

It was a really good experience and I like to remember it because commitment and consistency over a long time always pay off, a rule that applies in sport as well as in any other sphere.

ITA

Sono contento del ritorno al contest tematico #sportsmemories perchè nella mia vita adolescenziale ho dedicato molto tempo allo sport, ero fortemente motivato a diventare uno sportivo ma non sapevo bene quale disciplina. Ho così provato molte discipline: calcio, pallavolo, basket, nuoto, corsa e palestra. Mi sono impegnato sempre con grande determinazione ma a lungo termine non riesco ad essere costante e la situazione è peggiorata da un paio d'anni, sono letteralmente diventato pigro!

Ma all'età di 18 anni ero particolarmente bravo nella corsa, mi allenavo 3 volte a settimane (martedì, giovedì e domenica) ed ero affiancato da mio padre, corridore da 30 anni, il quale ha ulteriormente stimolato la mia passione. La domenica mattina eravamo soliti unirsi in un gruppo molto denso di corridori, circa 30, tutti amici di mio padre, iscritto ad un'associazione sportiva locale della disciplina. Il punto di partenza era un centro sportivo di tennis che si trovava in periferia e da qui si potevano scegliere diversi percorsi in base alla lunghezza e difficoltà del percorso: 10 km, 14 km, 16 km e 21 km. A distanza di qualche mese di allenamento sono riuscito a percorrere il giro da 16 chilometri assieme al gruppo, senza restare indietro. Un buon risultato visto la preparazione atletica pluriennale dei corridori.

Era il 2002 e partecipai alla mia prima gara chiamata Vivicittà tenutasi nella città di Bari, un percorso di 10 km nel pieno centro della metropoli, una gara molto rinomata e ogni anno partecipavano circa 10 mila corridori, professionisti di alto livello provenienti un pò da tutto il il continente europeo e africano. Io partecipai all'edizione per principianti, essendo la mia prima gara e non essendo iscritto all'albo dei professionisti. Il percorso non era difficile, ero allenato, e sono partito con la mia andatura: la mia strategia era non partire subito molto veloce perchè sarebbe stata più alta la probabilità di avere difficoltà già nei primi 2-3 km. E così sono andato ad una velocità standard, senza accelerazioni, fino al km 6 poi ho deciso d'iniziare ad aumentare il passo.

Quando sei in gara, non sai come effettivamente stai andando, molto atleti mi superavano, altri invece riuscivo a metterli dietro di me. Ricordo bene che avevo preso un buon ritmo ma ho trovato grosse difficoltà nella salita di un ponte lungo e cpn una buona pendenza. Solitamente in questi tratti si cambia passo: breve e con una frequenza più alta. Preso dalla voglia di continuare ad un buon ritmo, a metà salita ho avvertito una grossa difficoltà nel muovere le gambe: le sentivo pesanti, come fossero di pietra, ero in piena crisi e volevo abbandonare. Ma il traguardo non era lontano e con grande forza di volontà, piuttosto che fisica, ho continuato a ritmo lento e solo a 500 metri dall'arrivo ho ripreso il ritmo precedente e l'ho mantenuto fino alla fine.

Sono arrivato stremato, pensavo di aver fatto il doppio dei chilometri, ma ho pagato l'inesperienza e la gestione delle mie emozioni. Ma alla fine ho ottenuto un ottimo risultato: 56'23" che è tempo niente male per essere alla mia prima gara. Per intenderci, sono stato migliore di molti atleti del gruppo di mio padre. Il primo classificato invece ha chiuso con tempo di 32 minuti circa.

E' stata davvero una bella esperienza e mi piace ricordarlo perchè l'impegno e la costanza a lungo tempo ripagano sempre, regola che vale nello sport così come in qualsiasi altra sfera.

3
$ 1.57
$ 1.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for claudio83
2 years ago

Comments