Mastering Life with Chess

1 9
Avatar for chblcr04
3 years ago

I learned to play chess when I was in 4th grade. Our teacher gave us an instruction to bring chess boards so she can teach us the basic rules and moves of the chesspieces. I don't have chessboard that time but I still play with my classmates. I found it very amusing since it was like just solving math problems and I am a fond of making strategies. That day, I mastered the rules, some tactics and strategies. I fell in love with chess that time and I am very grateful that I have that day to learnt that boardgame that will make a big impact in my life. Since then, I almost played everyday. I played with the higher grade students and some players of our school and make them lose. I am eagerly to play outside the school when unit meet is coming. But since I am just a 4th-grade student and our teachers and coaches want older players they gave them the chance to play in that meet. I was half broken-hearted that time. It's like I'm very in love with chess and that was my first heartbreak.

But I still play and patiently wait for the next year to come hoping that I can play outside the school that time. Then the year came and finally they made me play for our school. I am not that strong enough but I got a big confidence in myself and wanted to beat strong players. I'm not afraid of losing because I know that in every lose, I have learnings to gain.

In the unit meet, I've met a lot of players and coaches. That time I don't really have coach up till now. I just played with random people like tricycle drivers, pedicab drivers and even standbyers. I made to be 6th placed that time not bad because there are 20+ schools I guessed and that's just my stepping stone in playing. And I'm very nervous that time, I can't control myself in being nervous so I made big blunders that made me cried sometimes.

So next year after that, my last year in elementary school, I played again and made rematches with my competitors last year. I became more confident since I learned some gambits and traps that I can use in winnings. In my last round where the Do or Die is done to make it to the provincial made me so nervous because that's my dream to step up to the next level but again I did not make myself calm. I won the third place but did not make it to the provincial meet because only the top 2 can do that. I cried again, it's hard to accept sometimes that you lose and you know in yourself that you can do a lot more or you're much better than your competitors but time doesn't want you to win.

Highschool came, I enrolled in the most prestigious school in our town. My classmates were valedictorians and salutatorians in their respective schools. I made it to top35 in entrance exam. I am very pressured yet so proud that I made it. I'm excited to showcase my eagerness in chess so on my very first day I asked my classmates who play chess to play with me. The brainiest in our room who is the topnotcher in the entrance exam plays so I'm very happy. I played with him everyday made some bets and guess what, I always win and it boosts my confidence. I start playing with the higher years, my classmate's friend, Jmy, who is a second-year student that time is my first match. And she made my whole life more exciting. We almost played everyday in the hall and we're like exchanging loses and wins. She's very competitive like me and made a huge part in my life.

I'll post the second part later. Please like, comment, upvotes and subscribe! God bless you all.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for chblcr04
3 years ago

Comments

Wow! I have always wanted to learn to play chess but at this age, I don't think I can still catch up.. This make me remember my experience with mathematical board games like damath and sci damath, but I have a bad experience on it as well, I will post the story when I have the time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago