Being the Youngest Child

7 36
Avatar for charmingcherry08
3 years ago

They say that being the youngest child is an advantage. Do you think so too? I do not know where this idea started but most of us believed in it. Most of us think that it is true. But is it?

I am the youngest child. And I can justify whether this idea was true or not. I am the youngest child and an only girl. This is my opinion about the matter. Growing up, I was being watched and guided by my Mom and Dad since I am an only girl. My brothers too are there for me. I have not realized yet the thought of having the advantage when you are the youngest child. But as I grow older, I am now having the thought about it. For me, it is not exactly as an advantage. I didn’t feel that I was superior just because I am the youngest. I felt the unfair treatment of our parents but in ways that wasn’t in favor of me.

Being the youngest is not actually an advantage. Some may say so, but it really depends on the parents and family members. It is how they treat you whether you are oldest or the youngest. It really depends on how they give fair affection and attention to one another. Sometimes we are having the thought of if you were the youngest child, you are the favorite. I do not think so, once again, because our parents’ favorite is my eldest brother. He gets the attention of them more. He gets what he wants more. He is indeed the most favorite for us, but our parents always refuse the thought of it.

Being the youngest, I always need to obey my older siblings. It was not hard at all because I really do respect them and I know that they are just concern to me. I always get scolded by doing things wrongly, and I cannot talk back. That is how I respect them. Talking back is not wrong but make sure you will still show some respect while doing so. I always do whatever they say. I always obey them because I thought they know better since they are older. And it is fine. I see no problem in it at all.

Growing up as the youngest was a little complicated specially because I am also an only girl. Like what I have said, I am being watched. The way I dress, the way I put something on my face, and everything was being watched. Also, I should obey them when told me to not yet have a boyfriend. They never stopped reminding me that before specially when I was in the age of 14-17. They wanted me to finish my study first.

To close this discussion, I conclude that being the youngest does not mean you have advantage in everything. Sometimes you just can’t tell unless you see and feel the treatment between you and your siblings. Sometimes being the youngest does not mean you are the favorite daughter or son, too. Because in my case, even if I am the youngest and also an only girl, still I am not the favorite. It is not in the gender and whether you are eldest or youngest. It depends on your parents. It depends on how they treat you. And also, it depends on how you understand that treatment you are getting.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ps: The images used are from free images of Unsplash. None of these are mine and I genuinely put credits on the site I got these from.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Thank you so much for having time reading my article and I hope you at least learned something from it. If you have some suggestions, comments, or opinion about my article, you can freely write it below in the comment section.

3
$ 0.88
$ 0.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
3 years ago

Comments

I am the eldest among my siblings and my other siblings told me that I am my parents favorite though I want to tell them that we are all equal.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

That is how it goes with our eldest brother. He doesn't even know or aware that he is our parents' favorite but we all know that and we also feel it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The thing is that for most families, it's such fun to be the youngest, specially if the eldest are all done studying and have jobs but it sucks when all of you are studying. It's hard to make a name for yourself. I'm the eldest and I'm unlucky, really. I grew up the slave to the family

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it might be better if your older siblings are done with their studies and got decent jobs but in my case, I have the responsibility of supporting my family soon since my oldest brother has already his own family while my other brother is saving money so his girlfriend and him could get married soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh wow. The pressure is real since that will be a really long time in which you'll be supporting them. In my case though, i still have a few more years left with supporting my sisters in their studies. It's just whack and so unfair

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww. You really are the oldest. Your younger siblings does need you in terms of support.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah ;;-;; financially, academically and morally ;;-;; the stress is real because i didn't even have any of those while growing up

$ 0.00
3 years ago