I get free crypto coins through mining! You can do it too!

2 19
Avatar for ch6m9ion
2 years ago

After attending a STEM course on AI and Robotics.  I have some ESP32, Raspberry Pi and Arduino boards lying around.  Those boards are not cheap when I bought them for learning and projects.  So I did some research on the internet and found that I can use them to mine a cryptocurrency - DUCO (stands for Duino-Coin).

I chose to start my exploration using the Raspberry Pi 4B 8GB board which I have and followed the steps given on the official Duino-Coin website.  Basically the steps for mining using a Raspberry Pi are as follows:

1.  Install a Raspberry Pi Imager on your Windows 10 desktop

2.  Using the imager to install a Raspberry Pi OS (64 bits for Raspberry Pi 4) via a microSD card

3.  Download the latest release of Duino-Coin binary package

4.  Register a wallet on the network for the Duino-Coin (there are 3 types available:  GUI wallet; web wallet; CLI wallet.  You can use any one.)

5.  Install python with the required libraries and modules (e.g. python3; pip; git)

6.  Start mining!

I did encountered some problems when installing python and pip.  However I managed to resolve them by asking "Mr Google" and did simple modification to some system files.

According to the website, this Duino-Coin can be also mined using your computer's CPU, your internet browser and even an Android smartphone!

Below is the screenshot of my mining result.  Although the price of DUCO is now very low and it is not profitable, it is the sense of accomplishment and the experience gained which is valuable and useful.

3
$ 1.26
$ 1.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @nomadghada
Avatar for ch6m9ion
2 years ago

Comments

Nice one and welcome, thanks for using my reference link! Will keep an eye out for your content, looks good so far!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to see another Raspberry Pi user. And nice article, just wanted to ask if mining DUCO on raspberry pi is profitable? And where can you sell DUCO?

$ 0.00
2 years ago