Succulent progress and flowers: My Caralluma hesperidium

0 20
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago
Topics: Nature, Photography

This plant is one of the very first I got when starting my collection. I happened to stumble on this pictures a few days ago while sorting them and wow... It's amazing how time goes by and one seems to see little changes on the plants but when you check past photos then it hits you how much they've grown...

For instance, here is a pic from last summer:

If you've read past posts of mine, you'll know that at first I was having a hard time locating my plants in a good spot, as there were no many possibilities in my house. And looking back I can tell that this poor fella was not having a good time, even though it was receiving a couple hours of direct sunlight.

Here is a photo that gives me chuckles. I took it trying to portrait the incipient flower, which, by the way, back a year ago NEVER BLOOMED, my guess is that because it wasn't put in proper conditions... sorry dear plant :(

It looks like one of those balloon man that usually are outside gas stations or other commerces. You know, the ones that seems like dancing or sum like that haha

Anyways... by mid July or perhaps a bit earlier than that, I put all my plants in a balcony with A LOT more light. I wasn't at home for a while during the pandemic so I couldn't check on my plants, but when I finally got back they all surprised me on how much they've grown, SPECIALLY this Caralluma. It was amazing because they were supposed to be on their "rest-period", but I guess they had to put up with all the growth they were holding back.

And during this summer it has blessed me with continuous flowering. Like, it hasn't been a day when there are 0 flowers. And you can tell just by going nearby it. Why? Because they smell awful!!! Hahahahaa

They look super cute alright, but their smell resembles putrefaction! It has it's reasons tho... It is to attract flies and other insects in order for them to help with pollinize. Nature is smart AF init?

A couple days ago I put this beautiful baby in a new terracota pot (terracota lover right here *points at himself*). Will update with new pictures when this Caralluma, amongst other transpotted, joins the collection (these are rainy days right now and with every new transplant it is preferable not to water the plant, just to give time for roots to heal from the damages and stress of being placed somewhere new).

That's it for today. Enough show-off haha. Bye guys!!

Remember you can check my Instagram page for daily pictures!!
Instagram
And also if you feel like checking my in-development webpage and leave some feedback here in the comments, it'll be much appreciated.

WebPage

See you next time!!

2
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of cactaceasml
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago
Topics: Nature, Photography

Comments