Plant ID & Cares: Sansevieria

2 15
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago
Topics: Nature, Photography

Good morning peeps. Today I wanna show you some progress from my rescued Sansevierias (you can check the post when I got them clicking here as well as the one where I potted them clicking here).

If you read the articles above there is not much to mention about, but for all those TLDR, the short version is: found some Sansevieria's cuttings (amongst other plants) on the streets, took them to my house, waited for them to sprout roots and then put them in terracota pots. Some of them were put in other smaller pots and one even went to my backyard, directly on soil).

Characteristics:

These plants are native from South Africa and are quite robust and resistant. They adapt pretty well to a wide variety of conditions as long as they are placed in a place where they get enough light. They survive both in interiors and exteriors. That's why they are frequently used as decorative plants. It is also said that they "cleanse" the air as they use a lot of CO2. When I first rescued these plants I put them near a window in my bedroom, on a recipient with water until they root. After I put them in the terracota pots, I kept them in the same place and I've been sleeping like a baby since. But now is time for them to go outside and get some more sunlight during the day, as well as more frequent watering.

There are over 130 varieties of Sansevierias, but one of the main aspects they share is their "tiger looking skin". That's why they are also called "Tiger's tail" (it's a translation from Spanish "Cola de tigre"). They can grow in a sort of "spiraled" way but always getting taller. New growings sprout from the base of the main leaf and so on, forming in time sort of a "barrier" of plants, in a beautiful colored bush-shaped colony.

Sansevieria "Tiger" patterns

Cares:

They are pretty resistant to both heat and cold. I take care of them the same way I do with my other cactus and succulents: I put them in fast-draining soil, water them every time the soil gets completely dry. Right now I'm adapting them to more sunlight (as they have been in interiors for a long time) so they are placed in semi-light condition on the outside.

Propagation:

There are many ways to do so. The more usual is cutting a leaf, wait for the cut to heal and then sprout roots and then put them in soil. Pim pum pam, easy as cake. You can also wait for the new babies to pop from the base of the mother plant and separate them, but that is usually done when repotting once the plant grew larger than the pot where it is. Easier way is just cutting propagation.

I'll leave you guys with two pictures from the most good loking ones I have right now: Sansevieria trifasciata and Sansevieria trifasciata laurentii

Sansevieria trifasciata
Sansevieria trifasciata laurentii

That's it for now guys! Remember you can visit my other social-media if you like :)
Bye, stay safe!!

Website
Instagram
Twitter
Noise.cash

Sponsors of cactaceasml
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.17
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago
Topics: Nature, Photography

Comments

I have sanseveria. We call it mother-in-law's language ... LOL During the winter, I keep the pots with sanseveria in a room where the temperature does not fall below 10 ° C

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah from where I'm from it gets that name too "Lengua de suegra" haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago