"Ehyeh Asher Ehyeh" I AM THAT I AM

0 23
Avatar for buckeyebkd
2 years ago

Sponsors of buckeyebkd
empty
empty
empty

I am that I am is a common English translation of the Hebrew phrase אֶהְיֶה אֲשֶׁר אֶהְיֶה‎, ’ehyeh ’ăšer ’ehyeh ([ʔehˈje ʔaˈʃer ʔehˈje]) – also "I am who I am," "I will become what I choose to become,"[1] "I am what I am," "I will be what I will be," "I create what(ever) I create," or "I am the Existing One."[2] The traditional English translation within Judaism favors "I will be what I will be" because there is no present tense of the verb "to be" in the Hebrew language.

The Hebrew text with niqqud.  

I normally don't start a post off by quoting a source but when I came across this on Wikipedia I thought it fit well with what I'm wanting to say. The translation that I like the most is "I am the Existing One".

The eighth chapter of John is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible and it is a must read for everyone. It starts out with the Pharisees bringing the woman caught in adultery before Jesus and Him saying ye without sin cast the first stone. Jesus goes on to tell the Pharisees that they know neither Him or His Father. Then he tells them that the devil is their father and that they are not of God because they do not hear God's words. It ends with the Jews being so angry by Jesus's words that they wanted to stone Him.


John 8:58-59 King James Version


58 Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.

59 Then took they up stones to cast at him: but Jesus hid himself, and went out of the temple, going through the midst of them, and so passed by.

The above scriptures are very familiar to most people but have you ever wondered why the people got so angry with Jesus that they were wanting to stone him. To truly understand the answer to this we need to look back to the Old Testament. In the second chapter of Exodus we find Moses had fled Pharaoh and dwelt in the land of Midian. In the next chapter Moses is tending to a flock in the desert at Horeb (this area is in Saudi Arabia). This is when he saw the burning bush that wasn't consumed and God spoke to him. Now I'm not wanting to go into all the details here (I strongly encourage you to read this for yourself) but what I do want to talk about is the 14th verse:


Exodus 3:14 KJV


14 And God said unto Moses, I Am That I Am: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.  

God told Moses to tell the Israelites that I Am sent him. So going back to John 8:58 when Jesus said I Am the Jews understood that He was saying that not only is He the Messiah but He is God. That's why they got so angry and were wanting to stone him on the spot. I don't want to get to carried away here because I do plan on writing another post about Jesus being God of the whole Bible and not just the New Testament. I'm going to end with just one more verse...


John 8:24 KJV


24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.  

Now I don't expect many to agree with my interpretation of these scriptures and that's ok😂🤣😂. I just ask that you study it for yourself with an open mind and come to your own conclusions. I've been very busy the last couple of weeks and I haven't really had time to focus on making new post so I did hurry this one somewhat. (BTW I did underline the I Am's in the scriptures myself to get my point across)

I want to end by giving honor where honor is due. Thank you Abba Father for keeping your hand upon me and my life. Thank you Jesus for being my Lord and Savior and for dying on the cross so that I could have eternal life. Thank you Holy Spirit for giving me guidance, discipline, comfort, and for being so much more to me than just a tongue talker.

Resources

  1. https://www.pinterest.com/pin/831758624935091727/

  2. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Am_that_I_Am

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of buckeyebkd
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for buckeyebkd
2 years ago

Comments