Christians: I Believe What I Read In The Word Of God

1 19
Avatar for buckeyebkd
2 years ago
Sponsors of buckeyebkd
empty
empty
empty

Everyone that knows me knows that I was brought up in a Pentecostal church. I truly believe that I had some of the best Sunday school teachers that ever taught including my mother and grandfather. I truly believe that I've heard some of the best sermons that have ever been preached anywhere in the world. Although I wasn't a born again Christian growing up I had an above average understanding of the scriptures because of some wonderfully amazing Christians that took their time to teach me. Looking back at it now I consider myself fortunate that I was brought up this way and I wouldn't change it for anything.

Last weekend I was studying a subject that I thought I had a pretty good grasp on but I still had some questions about because it just didn't seem to line up right with my own experiences. As I was researching and reading my Bible I found out that what I was taught growing up and thought was right my whole life actually wasn't. This wasn't the first time this has happened but this one really blew me away. Honestly I had to just let it settle in my mind and spirit for a little while.

I know that nobody intentionally mislead me and everyone really thought they were teaching me what was right. This just reinforced to me the importance of reading the Bible for ourselves and not being afraid to adjust our own beliefs according to what is actually said in the Word of God. Everyone that is even just a little bit familiar with the Bible has heard that we are to work out our own salvation but what does the Bible actually say:

Philippians 2:12 KJV

12 Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.

So yes it does say we are to work out our own salvation but most will leave out the with fear and trembling. The reason we are to work out our own salvation with fear and trembling is because if we're wrong it could change where we spend eternity. So that in itself should be enough for us not to take anybody's word for what the Bible says but we should read it ourselves.

I always tell people "I don't believe exactly how my grandparents believed. I don't believe exactly how my parents believe. I don't believe exactly how my siblings believe. I don't believe exactly how my pastor believes. I believe what I read in the Word of God." We can't just take other people's word for what The Bible says we need to read it, research it, and study things out for ourselves.

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of buckeyebkd
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for buckeyebkd
2 years ago

Comments

Very strongs feeling, every person have thoughts that are different and i think that is the most beautiful think, always with one path in mind that everyone can walk in many diferent ways. beautifull comunity you have and i hope all of you will be happy in the eternity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago