The Mitra flipstarter "finish line lottery" : 10 BCH (cancelled)

10 1273
Avatar for btcfork
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
3 years ago

Fellow Bitcoin Cashers!

I am opening a 10 BCH lottery, open to anyone who has already contributed to the Mitra flipstarter or pledges even a minimal amount via https://mitra.be.cash/ .

The flipstarter expires in about 5 days.

I am setting no minimum price because I'd like as many people as possible to have a shot at winning this lottery.

Read the "Lottery Rules" section below for more info!

EDIT: if you get this kind of error, please wait, hopefully it can be resolved and you can try again (you may need to unfreeze and move your pledge coins to redo your pledge. Sorry about the technical problem, but I can't do anything about it, only the one who runs that Flipstarter can!)

FINAL UPDATE: This particular Flipstarter lottery is CANCELLED since the Mitra campaign was discontinued by Tobias Ruck:


EDIT: I'm keeping the info below for historical reasons. As for the 10 BCH funds intended for promoting this Mitra flipstarter, I'll consider applying those to other flipstarters now, so maybe there will be a similar lottery in the future. I'll keep you posted.

I don't think Tobias is right about that last point, because ... what is "wrongthink" anyway?

Maybe it's just that whales who agree with him, do not donate. That might be the case.


Lottery rules

  1. The 10 BCH prize will be awarded to ONE participant who made a pledge

  2. It will only be awarded if the Flipstarter is successful (bear in mind that if the flipstarter is unsuccessful, you lose no money as your pledge is not collected!)

  3. The winning entry will be chosen as follows:

    1. The list of pledger names will be collected if the flipstarter is successful, and collated (put into a standardized sort order) using the 'sort' program on Linux run under the 'C' locale.

    2. The sorted list produced above will be numbered in ascending order, starting from 0 for the first entry in the list.

    3. The winning entry number will be determined by taking the last "as many as needed" least significant bits from the hash of the block that confirmed the Mitra flipstarter crowd-funding transaction. A flipstarter can only accomodate about 600 entries, and the final number of entries is uncertain, but there are enough bits in the hash to take as many as we need so that we can do modulo-the-number-of-entries and get a winner number in the range `0...<number of entrants-1>` .

    4. The winner will be announced on social media (readcash, Memo, Twitter, etc), and I will try to contact them to get a payout address for the 10 BCH prize. If they are not contactable within 5 days, a new winner will be chosen as follows:
      Take the next unused least significant bit in the hash. Call it a "movement bit". If it is a 0, the next choice is the one lower in the list than our previous (or wrap around if the chosen one was the last in the list). If the "movement bit" is a 1, we move UP in the list from the original choice. Again, I announce and try to contact. If unsuccessful, another "movement bit" is taken, and we pivot again (around the so far tried set of entries) to pick the next winner. Eventually we will find someone, or run out of bits, in which case I will take the block hash of the block *following* the flipstarter confirmation block, and we repeat the procedure to find a winner, based on the new block hash.

Mitra is an awesome concept, and Tobias a skilled developer. I see great things possible for Bitcoin Cash through his proposal.

Let's give it a go together, see if we can fund this exciting development and also set a new record for number of (small) Flipstarter contributions (previous one is 77).

I wish you good luck, and have fun!


Mini-FAQ:

  1. Q: How do I know you (btcfork) will really pay out?
    A: I have contributed to a lot of previous Flipstarters, am a well know community figure, have run several bounties honorably (you can check my readcash or Twitter account) and I'm good for the money. To prove it, I will publish a BCH address holding 10 BCH in the 48 hours after publishing this article.

  2. Q: The minimum amount is too high for me! How can I participate?
    A: Sorry, I can't do much about that, you will need to wait until more people have pledged so that the minimum amount comes down. I hope it will, soon!

  3. Q: What if the flipstarter site stops working after I pledged?
    A: If the site breaks and the flipstarter is unsuccessful due to expiry, no-one's pledge is collected, and this lottery competition must unfortunately be cancelled. If that happens and Tobias Ruck decides to re-start the flipstarter, I will *consider* re-opening this lottery, but in that case you need to re-pledge on the re-opened Flipstarter to have a chance - your old pledges won't count again.


Any further questions? Please leave in the comments below. I may add them to the mini-FAQ below if I deem them important.

I welcome people to translate this article into various languages.

p.s. if any others want to join in to increase the 10 BCH pot with me, I'll consider it, but only from reputable donors / funders. Contact me in the comments below if you wish, or issue your own independent announcements that leverage this one.

Lead image: based on photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

18
$ 3.09
$ 2.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tula_s
$ 0.08 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
+ 1
Avatar for btcfork
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
3 years ago

Comments

I was considering starting a flipstarter for starving artistes
but this news appears to dim such hopes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well , I'm confuee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't believe, you really think people are not too petty to donate to Tobias.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you will donate when it's affordable to you.

Otherwise you will end up on my "too petty to donate to Tobias" list.

XD XD XD

$ 0.00
User's avatar btcfork
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
3 years ago

EDIT: if you get this kind of error, please wait, hopefully it can be resolved and you can try again (you may need to unfreeze and move your pledge coins to redo your pledge. Sorry about the technical problem, but I can't do anything about it, only the one who runs that Flipstarter can!)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice job

$ 0.00
3 years ago

like

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago