Why Did I Choose To Blog Over Vlog?

27 92
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Blogging, Vlog, Vlogging

Last night, I got a chance to have a small talk with one of my closest friends aka former colleague aka best male buddy of all time. I call him by his last name, Canales.

So this friend of mine is one of the many friends that I urged to join on this platform to earn extra income. However, he is also one of the many who declined because, according to him, he is not good at this stuff.

I even told him before that you don't have to be a professional writer to be able to come up with an article. You can simply share anything like your day-to-day life experiences or share something about the things he likes to do, or about the mobile games, he likes to play.

Unfortunately, he isn't interested at all. Anyway, as we talked, he suggested that I should try vlogging since he knew that I talked nonstop. Not sure if this is considered a compliment or what. LOL.

But I said, no. Just like blogging, vlogging needs to create quality content to attract viewers. The quality of the video as well matters. But the main reason is that I don't think I can do it. Here's why:

Vlogging requires you to always look presentable

I'm not saying I look shit all the time, but I must admit, most of the time, I am. Lol. First off, I work at home so making myself pretty or presentable is optional. I do bath every day, comb my hair, and the typical things you do to make you look like a human, but other than that, like making extra presentable, I don't.

So vlogging is definitely not for me because I have no time to trim my eyebrows, put some lipsticks on, or make me look pretty. Unlike blogging, we don't need any of those. We can simply start writing without any hassle. We simply need our phone or computer, the topic we want to write, and that's it.

Vlogging requires you to talk a lot

Source: Unsplash

When I was still working from my previous company, I used to talk a lot to Canales, since we are seatmates, anything nonstop. I talked to him in English, and that used to annoy him because I won't answer his queries about work if he won't respond in English.

He then told me to start doing a vlog since I talked a lot. But to tell you, guys, the truth, I barely even speak to anyone, except to my closest friends. This means vlogging is definitely not my cup of tea.

Vlogging needs a good background

Since I barely go out to see the beautiful outside world, if I vlog, my audience will only probably see my room most of the time, and that's going to be a boring one.

Source: Pixabay

Our house is quite a mess, too, because we have 4 kids here. You know how hard it is to keep the house clean if you have kids. It's always going to be a messy one no matter how many times you try to organize everything. Plus, our house is quite so loud, too.

Vlogging means you need to be fun

I know I am quite noisy on noise, but that's completely the opposite in the real world. I am an introvert and talking is not really my thing. Again, I am only talkative when I'm with the people I am comfortable with, like family and friends.

Since I'm shy-typed, it's going to be hard for me to produce fun and interesting content for my audience. This gives me another reason for me to say no to vlogging.

Vlogging requires basic knowledge in editing

If you want to be a successful vlogger, it is also essential that you know how to edit your videos to make them more interesting to the viewers.

Source: Unsplash

And although anyone can learn how to edit videos in no time, I just don't have much time for that. I am already occupied with being a frustrated writer, a desperate trader, a furmom, and an aunt. Plus, I choose to sleep early at night, too, to make sure my entire body system will get proper rest all the time.


Closing thoughts

Vlogging requires a lot of time from preparation, the actual process, and editing. You also need decent tools to make sure your videos are going to be of high quality all the time.

But blogging doesn't need much effort, in my opinion. It is less stressful than vlogging because as I've said, you only need your phone or laptop, your ideas, and Grammarly to help you polish your article.

Source: Unsplash

This is why I prefer blogging instead of vlogging because I can just do it while lying on the couch or while watching TV.

Anyway, what about you? Which of these two do you prefer? Blogging? Or, Vlogging?


27
$ 17.98
$ 16.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @eommaZel
$ 0.10 from @gatmac
+ 11
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Blogging, Vlog, Vlogging

Comments

Couldn't agree with this more. Vlogging is a TON of work and totally not something I have the time for.

An interesting point you missed with Vlogging is that sometimes accents can be tricky to understand, but accents don't really exist with written text making it easier to read, and text can also be run through a translator if needed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Didn't realize that. Thank you for adding that up. And yes, accent, too. Another reason why I don't do vlog coz aside from the accent, I don't think I can speak English. 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe you could add podcasting to your lust XD since they won't see you naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano ba meron dun? Or ano usually sinasabi dun?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

depende sa topic mo. parang pwede mo nga gawin, basahin mo articles pero sa podcast kasi, need mo na maexplain ng maayos and medyo in-depth. puro chemistry podcast nanaman nga pinapakinggan ko eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to edit videos but blogging isn't for me. I'm more expressive through writing. 😁 But I made a video before sa YouTube parang music video ng Anime. Kaso nkalimutan ko na unang account ko dun. Mas better parin sumulat, bale pastime ko nlng mgedit2 ng vids heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din.. Natry ko gumawa ng music video na me lyrics.. Aw parang compilation lang naman yun ng pics pero ginawan ko ng lyrics.. Pero dati pa yun nung wala pa akong ibang gustong gawin.. That time di pa ako focus sa writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

blogging is indeed easier compared to vlogging. I post video content, not necessarily vlogs on YouTube although I also vlog sometimes. Also, those videos, I post first on 3speak to earn hive/hdb before publishing on YouTube, its hitting 2 birds with one stone. Finally, I use YT to keep most of my baby's videos too, its a way of preserving memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't have the talent and talking is definitely not my thing. I did a video tutorial, though, but I was only showing my screen and not myself, so it was a fun experience.

And relate ako sa preserving memories through YT. Meron din ako dun. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm not techy. Don't know anything about editing even photoshop so vlogging is not for me. Pwede sana kasi andaldal ko e, kaya lang andugyot ko. πŸ˜‚ Blog blog muna kahit di active.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually bagay na bagay to sayo.. Kasi more on travel goals ka tas me cutiepie ka pang Tia. Not to mention, ang galing mo pa mag luto. Try mo to. Malay mo magustuhan mo to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Vlogging is my favourite but after joining blogging I'm addicted with it now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What did you vlog before?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not professionally but it was my passion to vlog random things or cinematic views

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Care to share your YT vid?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would definitely go for blogging. I agree with all you said in your article. On top of all this you would need microphone, lighting, vlogging camera and lots of time. I tried faceless videos. Even that requires a lot of things so I stick with blogging.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Yuh. Those things, too. I do have a microphone but not the lighting and camera. I also don't have time to edit. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered while I was taking my blogging skills on Uptrennd University and we were required to make a post but in form of a video, I was too shy to face the screen and talk. I had to summon the courage to do it but sincerely, I never tried doing that again. πŸ˜… I prefer blogging to vlogging because you can sit anyhow, or in any posture to write your article. Blogging for me is so perfect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers! Same reasons. You can blog anywhere, anytime. It's so easy and hassle-free.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hndi rn ata pwd to sakin.. Hndi ako madaldal sa camera 🀣🀣 Pro pwd namn podcasting. Record at edit lng

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, bagay din sayo podcasting kasi ang ganda ng boses mo. Try mo yan pag naka uwi ka na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like you, I prefer blogging too since I'm camera-shy. And I think I am at my best when I write my thoughts rather than speaking it up. So cheers to us bloggers a.k.a frustrated writers :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that. Cheers! Exactly how I feel. So yeah, cheers for us, frustrated writers. πŸ₯‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can edit videos πŸ₯° Last year i have learned how to edit videos as like professionals during lockdown for the pandemic. I have a DSLR camera and all accessories with it. But i can't talk much and i have less ideas πŸ˜… Will i be able to make videosπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can if you want to. And yes, you should try it since it's already an advantage for you coz you know how to edit. You can showcase BCH or read.cash or noise, too. 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know how to edit as well that is why I didn't even bother trying that vlogging and you must always look presentable, the problem is I look horrible if I am only at out home πŸ˜πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Yuh, I think I need to start how to look pretty. Lol. I always look like a shit. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago