Transcribing Handwritten Text For The First Time

6 45
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

Since I started read.cash a year ago, I barely open my Upwork account not unless if I got notified of a job offer. Honestly, I stopped sending applications to different clients as I'm already happy with my current status now. I avoid stressing myself by working with different clients. I already tried this one before and unfortunately, it wasn't my thing.

Now, I focused more on this platform while still working for 10 hours a week. Then last August 23, I received another invitation after a long time. And for the first time, it was for a data entry job and not related to writing or Wikipedia. This time, all I need to do is to transcribe required information from handwritten (in English) medical case records and type the extracted information into an electronic template using Google forms online.

The budget was set for one hour’s work. There were 10 medical case records, all handwritten, and scanned in PDF format. The chosen freelancers were expected to submit anything they could accomplish in one hour. After reading the job posting, I decided to respond to the invitation.

After I sent my reply, the client responded the next day. I didn't expect I would get the job but lucky me, I did.

So after a week, the client sent me the instructions that I needed to finish in 24 hours. I didn't work on it right away as I had a mild headache at that time. I took a day off and had to do the work the next day. Transcribing text seems easy but not when you're dealing with a doctor's handwriting.

I did my best, but I messed up. Out of 10 case records, I only finished 3. Each case record has multiple appointments. This means each case record would take some time to finish since there were several fields to fill up. And with their handwriting, it would be hard to fill that up, especially because it was about medical notes.

Actually, I almost quit on this task, but I decided to continue coz trying is better than quitting. After 1 hour of trying my best, I finished 3 cases and submitted them right away. I also decided to message the client and made a note about it.

I felt guilty for not be able to finish at least 5, so I decided to apologize. I'm glad the client responded after that message coz I felt relieved after that. I don't know if apologizing would make any difference, but I just felt so bad about it. Lol.

Despite the epic failure data entry job, I'm still glad I get paid. I'm just worried about the feedback, though, but whatever that is, I accept it with open arms.

Closing thoughts

It was my first data entry and text transcription job ever. Just too bad I wasn't able to do deliver what I was expected to do. Oh well, that's just a charge to experience.


7
$ 4.92
$ 4.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.03 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Gusto ko rin snaang itry yan ate kasi sulat doctor rin ako hahah joke lang. Pero siguro mahirap po yung sa sulat doctor talaga haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me iba mababasa mo naman pero ang iba, feeling ko bata ang nag sulat. Hahaha. Wala ka talagang ma gets kahit isa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya ako iwas sa salitang 'medical' talaga e, mahirap kasi talaga intindihin sulat nila lalo na kung medical terms hahaha pero Keri na yan at least binayaran ka

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. At least binayaran ako. Hehe. Sa feedback lang talaga ako ma woworry. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doctors have notoriously atrocious handwriting! I feel your pain MJ!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No to task that involves with doctors' medical notes lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago