My NFT Journey: Mistakes You Can Avoid

62 111
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: NFT

I've recently just started creating my own NFT and honestly, it's really fun to create your own. Creating your own NFT is easy, selling them is another story, but we're not gonna talk about the selling stuff here.

For this article, I'm going to share with you all the epic failures I did during minting my own NFTs. So if you are planning to create your own in the future, you can use this as a reference to avoid such. Here are a few:

Collection name

The collection name is one of the few requirements if you want to have your collection to be whitelisted. The collection name should be all lowercase and up to 12 characters long. It should also be unique to your collection and identifiable as such. You can use your name or a unique branding name. Also, you need to avoid using a combination of common words.

In my case, I was so confused about what name for my collection. I then settled for "g1rlslovenft" because what I had in mind at that time was just to focus on my girly drawings. Now, I honestly regret using that, and it would have been better if just used my username instead.

Schemas

Once you are done with your collection name, the next step is to "Create New Schema." I made quite a lot of mistakes here since I'm new and the only guide I had was YouTube. At first, I thought 1 schema = 1 template. Later did I know that you can actually create multiple templates within a schema.

By the way, when we say schema, it means the concept of your collection. So in my case, since it's more on random drawings and gifs, I could just have put their random stuff. However, since I was too dumb for everything, I wrote "drawings" instead.

Despite that, I think my schemas aren't that pretty bad at all. I currently have 3: drawings (1st schema with all the burned 10 NFTs), draw1ngs (with the current Blonde Loves NFT girls), and Stickman (with the stickman gif).

Template

After schema, next is the template. This is where you are going to input your maximum supply for a certain NFT. My first real NFT, after the epic failed watermarked-NFT that I had to burn, I put 10 max supply. Again, I had no idea what I was doing and was only relying on the YouTube video I watched. The 10 was an example on that video. LOL.

There is nothing wrong with doing 10 max supply if you are not planning to do either paid or free drops. The 10 drops or even less is like a Limited Edition NFT because there will only be 10 NFTs of that art, so it's pretty rare. What happened in my case was that I wanted to do paid drops as advised by the admin of that Free NFT Drops that I mod myself.

Since I can't do paid drops for my current NFT, I had to create another one with enough supply. I put 200 max supply for the Blonde Loves NFT (2) aka my second template, which is enough for the drops.

For the drops

If you're going to do either free or paid drops, you will be asked how many maximum claimable for a drop. In my first attempt for the Blonde Loves NFT (2), out of 200 max supply, I put 150 as max claimable for 1 WAX each.

150 would be great if that is for free drops but as a newbie like me whose NFT isn't that so impressive at all, 150 is a lot for paid drops of 1 WAX. Now, out of 150 claimable, I only sold 24 NFTS, which means I am stuck. If the NFT won't be sold out, chances are, I might have to burn them all to save myself from RAM. The second NFT that I did for paid drops, I put 50 max claimable and only 3 NFTs are sold.

To summarize it all:

  • Collection name should be something that describes your NFTs and must be something you really like so you'll have no regrets in the future.

  • Don't be in a hurry when minting coz you can't undo anything once the transaction is done.

  • For paid drops, make 50 as max claimable but with a supply of probably 200.

  • For free drops, more is fine.


Closing thoughts

Before creating your own, be sure to think twice about everything. Don't just do it for the sake of wanting to create your own NFT. As they say, DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH.

Also, for the drops, be sure that you won't exceed 50 NFTs on your first attempt. Mint 50 copies first. That way, they can easily be sold out. Besides, you can just do 200-500 max supply but put 50 max claimable for your drops, and if the first 50 sold, then you still have 150 back-ups.

First 5 to comment their WAX address will receive a little something from my own collection.


23
$ 9.92
$ 9.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
$ 0.05 from @Crackers
+ 2
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: NFT

Comments

So pag NFT drop ba required na maraming copy? Di pwedeng konti lang?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol poor Dino, he never had a chance! Thanks so much for the NFT , it's great :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

created by my 9-year-old niece. HEEHEHE. did you watch the gif until the end?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

lol yes, I never quite thought of Dino as a villain! Be sure to thank her :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHAH, and that dino is the dino from Peppa Pig. LOL.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

lol, I have never seen an episode of Peppa Pig

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHAHAH well, that dino was inspired by George, the dino lover aka Peppa's little brother. LOL.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello again, This idea is starting to grow on me more and more. I wonder if I could great a game out of it myself since I know web developing too. A Read.Cash trading card game with the community. :P Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lucky 5 to receive my NFTs:

@Laurenceuuu - 1ntr.wam @Eybyoung - 4ibr2.wam @Anastasiya - r5ir2.wam @Oldschool - a.xr4.wam @Ifm123 - yvrb2.wam

ALL SENT! THANK YOU FOR PARTICIPATING THE FREE DROPS. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't see it in https://wallet.wax.io/nfts but maybe I am missing something? This is my first time receiving anything via wax

$ 0.00
3 years ago

not the wallet.. when you want to check your inventory, always use this: https://wax.atomichub.io/ and then uncheck whitelist.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Got it thank you! 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And thank you. Hope you like it. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, of course it's cute 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

its nice a very informative article, mam. Thanks for creating and sharing your knowledged on how NFT works. congrats.🤗🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yuh, it's nice to share your experience to others so they can avoid the same mistakes I did. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Learning from other people’s experience is wise but require the sacrifice and dedication of other people. Thanks for sharing with everyone. As a curious newbie I appreciate it.

yvrb2.wam

😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I've seen you on LeoFinance. :)

(5th and closed)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi, thanks so much for the information and the drop! I was just about to ask how to make them. I do need some wax however. Maybe we can do a very small bch / wax swap?

WAX Account Name: a.xr4.wam

Is this what you need to complete the drop?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Unfortunately, I don't have much WAX in my account. That was actually what I wanted to do but I'm afraid I can't do that because I also need the WAX.

Anyway, feel free to read this: https://read.cash/@The.Part.Time.Economist/create-your-own-nft-on-the-wax-blockchain-710fba74

(4th)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

please how can i create an NFT wallet where i can show case my artwork and sell???

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello saan ba gagawa ng NFT? sa atomic hub? or wax? may link ka?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

okay thanks e save ko muna mamaya na pag malakas Ang signal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nasa isang article ko.. wait, hanapin ko lang and i'll send you the link.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ung ni fund ko sa Houbi ayon wala pa rin, nakakaasar 🤧🤧. Di tuloy ako maka claim tsk.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Need KYC daw po sa Huobi para mawithdraw.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Diko nga nareceive ung ni deposit ko dun haha sayang din $2

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nabasa ko na po yan, salamat po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

omg.. did you try to contact their customer service?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di na, sa kanila nalang haha. Try ko dun sa isang wallet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nabasa mo yung comment ni Silly? Tested na niya yun.. Meron din sa kucoin pero mahal daw yung fee.. at yung isa din yung sinend ko sa gc..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kung hindi po ako nagkakamali $100 po minimum sa onwax.com yung sinabi ni silly then need eh sa bank and cards.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aw ganun ba.. hindi ko alam yun.. hanapin ko ulit comment niya at iconfirm ko.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting experience

r5ir2.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was, indeed.

(3rd)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very informtive article.Hope to see more from you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww, thank you.. and will definitely share more soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will just save this because I still don't know how to draw 😂

4ibr2.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sure sure.. save it for later.. ipon muna ng drawings..

(2nd)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ate mj patulong ako huhu I bought wax worth of approximately ≈$30🙄 I don't know if I will continue to make my own NFT after reading this.

1ntr.wam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

bakit naman? saan ka bumili?

(1st)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kucoin po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha di ko na po tinuloy, napag-isip-isip ko na wag muna pala hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oo wag ka muna gumawa.. it's better to buy it for RAM muna.. 8 WAX ata bili sakin at mejo marami siyang malalagay..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

8 WAX ata bili sakin at mejo marami siyang malalagay.

Di ko po s'ya gets, ano pong 8 wax na madaming malalagay? Na ram?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

bali 8 WAX yung worth ng RAM na binigay sakin ng sponsor ko.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Etro ba yun sa jungle? Nagtatanong kasi anak ko about it, kung pwede daw ba yun drawing nya un ibebenta. Sabi ko wala ako idea sa ganun. And kahit na binasa ko tong article mo, di ko din masundan.hehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hindi eto jungle.. gusto ko itry yung jungle din.. sa wax.io to.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah ganun ba, kala ko eto un sa juungle..anyways, thank you..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

contact @Constant1995 for this coz I'm sure he can help you with this. He is an expert.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay sis,, thank you..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hala sis.. bakit nakahide na naman comment mo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ewan ko nga ba sis,, saan ba pwede mag email para dito?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sa hello@read.cash ata yun.. ask mo kung bakit.. hayst.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok sis,, salamat..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow that would be nice if I have wax address. Hahaha 😅

Ang galing sana lahat may natutunan! Nagregister ako jan nung una, kaso di ko masundan 🤣🤣 kaya iniwan ko muna. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nag register ka na? now, you need to join the gc for the free drops on telegram.. that way, me free NFTs ka.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay nagbura na po ako ng tg haha for personal reasons. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

aw sayang me mga free drops pa naman dun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago