Beware of Pump & Dump schemes in cryptocurrency

12 113
Avatar for bm8ter
Written by
3 years ago

What is a Pump & Dump ?

Here is the basic definition of a Pump and Dump scheme according to the Oxford Dictionary : denoting the fraudulent practice of encouraging investors to buy shares in a company , or in our case crypto tokens, in order to artificially inflate the price, and then selling ones own shares while the price is high.

While this is something new to me in the cryptospace, it has probably always been going on. I just never realized it until this recent fiasco with artificial pumping of DOGE coin.

DOGE is known as a meme coin in the crypto community, but it can be used as a utility to transfer fiat. Think of it as a hollow shell that you can fill with your idea, and then use it as vehicle to collect donations, etc. See the image below for an example of DOGE coin in action for a noble cause.

Now the big question, Are pump & dump illegal, can I go to jail ?

According to Investopedia they are Illegal, and anyone caught being involved in this kind of scam can face heavy monetary fines. I can only assume that this is also the case with the cyrpto market. The recent Robinhood / Gamestop situation has sent a wave of new users to the crypto market, and not all of them are good people.

What is this all about ?

What started out as an organic protest against the wall street hedge fund managers to catch them shorting GameStop stocks has migrated into the crypotspace with much fanfare.

The goal was for every average joe to buy DOGE coin as protest against the banks, and to hold on to it as the value increased. It was supposed to be a turning point in our financial evolution where the average world citizen could finally be in total control of their money, and finally be able to make our own financial decisions as individuals.

Sadly, what started out as a great idea has now been co-opted by bad actors trying to take advantage of the masses. Not only are there new subreddits for crypto pumps, they also have Discord, and Telegram channels where they pump their coins.

What these people don't realize is that the bankers watch everything. Did you know the SEC and the US Attorney General are trying to supeno Telegram, and Discord chat threads from the Gamestop Short Squeeze ? I don't know if anything will come of it, but just be aware that you could incriminate yourself just trying to be inquisitive.

The government won't care about your sob story if you get caught "manipulating their markets ". Like I said, this whole pump and dump in crypto is new to me. I never really paid attention to small pumps because my coins are long term investments. I actually thought this was the best approach for me, but I have now realized that was also a mistake.

I will cover that whole debacle in another article. For now I just wanted to get this one published while the iron is still hot on this story.

I have managed to infiltrate a few of these pump and dump groups so I can expose their plans and warn people of what they are planning next when it comes to cryptocurrency.

We have come to far to have some wall street hacks, and get rich quick crypto noobs ruin everything this community has worked for to bring cryptocurrency, and blockchain technology mainstream.

The Lesson I learned :

One other valuable thing I have learned from this situation is that if you are involved in cryptocurrency, that you must follow the world news, and social trends if you do not want to be left behind. Believe me, I don't like following the news either. If you are anything like me, the last thing you want to do is waste time on world news, but it is imperative if you are in cryptocurrency for investment purposes. If you really want to make money in cryptocurrency and blockchain technology the key is to always do your own research.

The wrap up : What can you do to protect yourself ?

Here I will add my personal opinion, so you know where my head is at, and share some advice on how to protect yourself.

I like to put my money into things I currently use, or projects I feel are going to bring something valuable to the world as a whole. I like BCH & ETH as far as a "digital currency" is concerned, and Cardano ADA for the decentralized blockchain it is planning to deliver. I also DCA into BTC as my long term lottery pick.

I will write another article concerning my personal investments. This was just meant to serve as an example for those wondering where I am coming from.

The disclaimers and the other good stuff :

As always, none of this should be considered financial advice. These statements are only meant to document, and share my own personal observations, and experiences.

Taking financial advice from me would be like asking your auto mechanic to do your colonoscopy. Sure, he could probably do it. He has all of the tools to get the job done, but do you really want him to try ? LOL . Im sorry, but that is the best original analogy that I can come up with that might make someone think twice before just looking at this article, and then going out to buy the tokens I mentioned without the proper research.

So what is next ?

This seems to a topic that isn't going away anytime soon. In the meantime always stay vigilant, watch trends in the news, and always do your own research.

One last warning pertaining to the new pumps that you may see this week : I have seen XLM , ALGO , and VET all mentioned. The Algorand team actually confronted them and told them to go away!!! They like to target low market cap, cheap entry point tokens so that they can load up on them before you, and then dump on you when you buy thinking you got some great inside info.

It is disgusting because I hold two of three tokens I mentioned here. I hold VET and ALGO. I don't want to be put in the situation where I may have to sell some of them prematurely due to an un-organic manipulation in the price.

I hope this information helps someone. we have to defend the crypto community from these weasels when at all possible. Good luck to all. You can still participate in this peaceful economic revolution, and maybe even make a few bucks in the process. My only other advice is to be cautious, and remember to always try ,and do what is right. You will sleep better at night. Thanks for reading!

Important Links :

How to identify a crypto Pump and Dump scheme :

https://bravenewcoin.com/insights/how-to-identify-a-crypto-pump-and-dump-scheme

*All images and graphics are created using the free Canva app available on Google Play Store or Apple iOS store using free templates and images from my phone.

10
$ 4.70
$ 4.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Macronald
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 2
Sponsors of bm8ter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bm8ter
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

@bm8ter, I'm a new member of a Discord server that is marshaling 200k plus people to pump crypto on 02 June 2021.

Are you implying that I should not profit from participating in the pump?

Again, would it be wrong to write articles and posts on social media to inform prospective speculators on how they can participate on the pump?

Pray, do tell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there my friend . Well , considering that this article is about three months old I'm surprised someone still read it , and left a comment, so I will try to respond . I have to reread my article, because I'm sure I got a few things wrong, but overall I still view pump & dumps as dangerous & high risk , especially for new traders . Now that I have been studying for a longer period of time I have learned a lot more, so I like to believe I have more informed opinions now than previously .

To answer your question; I would have to say that it is totally up to you & if you are doing it for the right reasons ?

If you have 200,000 followers on Discord then you must be doing something right . Just remember that the more people you influence, the more responsibility you have , and that not everyone is the same . If things don't work out , and your plan fails , are you ready to answer to 200,000 noobs crying that you scammed them , or ripped them off because they don't understand the concept, risk , or just simply can't follow instructions ?

I guess you have to compare the pros & cons to see if it's worth it . Let us know how you do . I'll be looking at the charts to see if I can find your pump .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

News is starting to come in regarding the pump.

Apparently, the pump was SUN-USDT on 02 June 2021, 18:00 GMT.

SUN went on to rise above 50%, peaking at $44, enabling some traders to make huge gains.

I do not know how to post charts here but you can confirm with TradingView.

Guess I'll have to do a full article on this and future pump and dump plays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned about Pump and Dump a few years back, and i really hate it, those guys have groups in untraceable platforms like telegram and there they plot when and which coins want to pump and dump, it's disgusting. Thank you for spreading the information :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for your comment! Yes I agree with you. They are just as bad as the people they claim to be fighting against. I hate scammers that take advantage of people. I realize everyone is responsible for their own decisions, but I still feel bad when people get scammed. Yes, I infiltrated one of the Telegram groups to see what they are up to. They are so dumb most of them aren't even entry level and are the ones about to get dumped on. You can't reason with them. I tried, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah, it's impossible to reason with people like them, until the hot potato gets in their hands

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm a complete trading noob and should know better than to ride these pumps. Don't wanna be caught in the dump... Thanks for sharing this timely article.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Just know when to recognize that the dump is coming , and try to have trailing stop loss in place to exit if things go south too fast. Then at least you are protected from losing all your profit . Unless you can watch the chart constantly, it's the only way to protect yourself .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only wish I had published this sooner, but I was just involved with too many other things. 9 times out of 10 by the time you hear about the pump it's too late.

There is a saying in Poker that if you don't know who the fish at the table is, then it's probably you.

I'm sure I didnt invent this phrase , but I apply it to this situation like this : If you don't know who is going to be left holding the bag after the dump, it's probably you. Thanks again for reading and leaving your comment, I really appreciate the feedback.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article man

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks mate ! ( I like using mate now instead of friend, It sounds much cooler, haha ) . Hopefully this helps people recognize a scheme. I put it together fast and it still took about 6 hours. I wanted to post it while it was hot in the news and hopefully save people from getting financially ruined.

My next article is going to be about how stupid I have been by ignoring my "HODL" wallets, and how much money I have lost by not paying attention to the news surrounding my investments. Ugh.....

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yea i am only getting into hodl recently wish i had know earlier

$ 0.00
3 years ago