We Want First Class Tokens on BCH! Timeline And Progress Report 2021-02-20

1 87
Avatar for bitcoincashautist
3 years ago

Maybe you noticed this series. For me it all started with an interview with Group Tokens creator, Andrew Stone. I heard his vision for what could be achieved with this, but it worried me that people have trouble "getting it" so that's where I decided to step in. I had a vague idea but I couldn't wait, I started writing and learning more at the same time. I've been jumping head to tail since then :)

I'll report from that point onwards. What happened since then? This:

  • 2021-02-13 The Interview published on /r/btc but now I see it's 1 month old! Only 115 views there. That's disappointing. I invite you to watch it!

  • 2021-02-13 We Want First Class Tokens on BCH! 1/N. Here I'm talking about the motivation and vision. I was reading what Andrew wrote elsewhere and that inspired the hell out of me!

  • 2021-02-14 We want first class tokens on BCH! Part 2/N. And we need to do work to get them! I learned why group tokens aren't getting the attention. Because the main doc describes a lot of things that can be done with them and it scared people away. I discovered a great guideline on how to bring change forward, so I thougt to implement it. While the Group token solution is awesome and elegant IMO, the project didn't present itself in a good way, so others had trouble grasping it and seeing what group tokens are and they're realy simple under the hood. They're an enabler! The stuff you can do with them can be complicated, but it doesn't have to be. Basic send/mint/melt is as easy as BCH! I needed to do the education, to debunk myths around them!

  • 2021-02-17 We Want First Class Tokens on BCH! Part 3/N Native Group Tokens FAQ More education. Important potential problem highlighted and addressed. Turns out group tokens solve this in an elegant way!

  • 2021-02-18 We Want First Class Tokens on BCH! Part 4/N High level Technical Details It became clear that we don't have a spec :( That's why Andrews's peers are having trouble doing the peer review, because it's hard to find what exactly they have to review! They appreciated my spec, which finally moved the conversation, yesss!

  • 2021-02-18 Andrew was working on a detailed spec at the same time! And finally we got freetrader to look at it, awesome! :D

  • 2021-02-19 I had a moment of inspiration and The Path To Completing Bitcoin (Cash: The Killer App) is the result. This kind of backfired among tempered crypto folk, I think many cringed lol. I got called out by emergent_reasons for stirring the pot :) Ok, I'm listening, I'll step off the accelerator, a little. What's interesting about this is that read.cash community responded differently. You have a lot of new people who're there to make money and BCH is just something they're getting paid in, and I'm stoked by the success of read.cash! They had a different response, so maybe we should listen to what they're whispering to us, they will be the driver of our success. We have an advantage in that we can operate where financial incumbents can't - the success in the underdeveloped world proves it, so let's use that advantage, let's broaden it, give them more! I want to see top devs coming from Africa one day!

My concern is that if we don't get tokens the right way, something like BNB chain will eat our lunch lol, and that's ok, the world will get cash (multi-currency) on blockchain, one way or the other, I just want it to be BCH because it deserves to be, because BCH is Bitcoin! Great thing is, we can do it in a way that increases BCH value and utility! I wouldn't have it any other way.

So what do you think, would we be here today if someone didn't decide to get involved during various points in BCH history? Is the group token idea any clearer to you then it was a week ago? This is the power of open-source and permissionless development. I didn't wait for someone to ask me to do it. I didn't ask for permission to do it. I just did it, because I felt it needed to be done.

That's open-source, just do it! (but don't forget to be nice and collaborative while doing it)

10
$ 7.86
$ 3.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CapitalFlight
$ 0.01 from @Swca.ch
+ 1
Avatar for bitcoincashautist
3 years ago

Comments

BCH is Bitcoin,$ BTC is not.$

$ 0.00
3 years ago