Antique Store Silver - 1934 Walking Liberty

0 13
Avatar for binancechanged
2 years ago

I Picked Up This Silver Coin At An Antique Store ..

I usually don't do a bunch of shopping for silver in antique shops, but I just couldn't pass this one up. It was a few years ago and the prices of silver were a bit lower than todays prices. I was strolling through the isles and came across a glass case with a bunch of paper and coin money. Of course I had to stop and browse. I tend to do it quickly since most everything is way over priced.


It Was The Summer Of 2019 ..

And silver prices were fluctuating around the $15 USD mark. I was occasionally picking up coins close to no premium or just over. The Walking Liberty's caught my eye, as they always seem to do. There were a few key date coins that had a high premium on them, and I avoided those. I wasn't looking to start a collection, but rather stack away some coin silver for later, in hopes it would grow in value.

A 1934 Walking Liberty Caught My Eye ..

I saw it there tucked behind some other nicer, crisper, less flawless coins. It was like the cast away coin that no one wanted. Poor coin. Then I asked to see it because there was no price on it. The attendant made a quick call to the owner (It was a consignment booth) and he said he would take $5.00 for it. SOLD! At the time it was about .41 cents less than spot price. Everything else in the case was $5+ higher over spot. I was looking for a deal, and found it. Not today though. I still look and never seem to find any good deals. Seems like the cat is out of the bag! lol. Word is out.

The Coin ..

I tried to take a few fancy photos and struck out. They just came out a bit blurry. Oh well.. You get the idea.

I never seem to get bored of the Walking Liberties. There is just something so beautiful about her design that beckons the eye and the heart.

Here is some more information via Numista.com - Check out the site here if you would like more information on the series of coins.

Numista

Mintage number for the 1934D - 2.4 Million

I know of a few other silver stackers out there who like the walkers and the Lady Liberty design.

The coin I have here is NOT in the best shape, but at the end of the day it's still silver and is hanging out happily in the stack!

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Sponsors of binancechanged
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for binancechanged
2 years ago

Comments