Morning Hunt

0 24
Avatar for bettyhandayani
1 year ago

I walk alone. Stepping very carefully, eye and ear with sharp and full of suspicion. The thick fog took away the beauty of the night, so that the moon with its loyal pairs of stars was unable to help give me a glimmer of light to walk in the cold weather in the forest.

"Looks like this will be the last odyssey in my life" whispered the heart in between breaks

The sound of forest singing at night comes, all creatures sing happily, shouting to each other. The wind blew so hard, with a characteristic breezy sound that wafted through the jacket I was wearing, piercing the blood vessels through the skin pores. My mind started to mess up, I immediately took a used cloth from the bag to just hold back the cold forest wind.

I looked at the map, my position was quite at the end of the forest. soon arrived at the lip of a fairly deep ravine with the welcome of the river below.

"If I follow the flow of the river, I'm sure I can survive even though the body will add to the pain and bruises but, I have to do this to get out of this forest" I spoke to myself

I started to focus on one goal: to get to the end of the forest and start down the ravine to reach the river and hunt for the morning. No matter what the ear will hear, no matter what the eye will see, no matter what will come approaching in the middle of the night with a quiet atmosphere, which is clearly focused on one goal, chasing the morning.

I continued step by step. The thick fog was thinning, but the cold was piercing. Step by step I walked, occasionally I stopped because I heard a suspicious sound from the side or the front, it turned out to be only the sound of falling tree branches.

The forest is so dangerous when night comes. But it's amazing during the day. The eyes are spoiled by the green of the trees and grass, but at night the forest looks like a ghost or a monster that will slowly kill us. In my exhaustion, my imagination running wild, it occurred to me that I was already somewhere with friends, enjoying a night on the town with a bottle of beer and a cigarette to the music of John Lennon or Elvis Presley.

I patted my left cheek to stop the daydream. Continuing the steps now the moonlight is starting to illuminate from the gaps in the leaves of a large and shady tree. Only a few kilometers to reach the end of the forest. In the midst of the fatigue that invaded the body, I was surprised by a large image and breath blowing in front of my eyes, the distance was quite close. I paused for a moment and stared intently and intently.

It turned out that the big shadow and the characteristic breath was a big bear. Knowing that I slowly made a silent step to hide behind the tree. The sound of the footsteps grew clearer, the breathing and moaning of the bear getting closer and closer. I was thinking hard about how to get past this bear, and there was no way if I had to fight, it was obvious that I would lose.

With limited strength, I started to think of another way even though this method would be fatal to me. There is no other way but to trick the bear. Immediately I groped down, looking for rocks or tree branches to trick the bear by throwing it in another direction.

With some stones and tree branches that I threw in various directions, the bear was deceived and began to be tricked by the sound of the branches that I threw. Immediately I continued to jog, but my footsteps stepped on some twigs and Oh my God, the bear knew me. Tired of not thinking about what lies ahead, I started running as hard as I could in the cold forest. The bear chased with an occasional roar like it was angry.

The big bear was chasing me, while I was hunting in the morning. It's an experience that I won't forget if I survive, but this will be the end of the many adventures of my life. I ran as fast as possible, as if there was no fatigue, maybe the tiredness was lost by the tense atmosphere and a little feeling of fear. The end of the forest is visible, the edge of the ravine is getting more and more visible, there is no other way I have to jump no matter what happens, even if I have to end up here, I'd rather die by the forest and river than be eaten by the bear.

A few steps to the edge of the cliff, and the bear behind with its sharp claws, I took a step and jumped free fall to the bottom with the welcome of the river. I flopped, and my feet brushed against the rock in the rushing water of the river. My body that has run out of energy I let the swift river water carry me. I don't remember anything after throwing myself into the river. I remember after I woke up I was swept to the edge of the estuary carried away by some tree debris. My body lay helpless, I recognized this warm feeling, the morning sun greeted me warmly. Finally I survived and I won from the bear hunt by getting morning.

The End

Image source: https://unsplash.com/photos/IsHwIcHbn0Q

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for bettyhandayani
1 year ago

Comments