The Stalker

0 18

He found me at that unholy hour

When most criminals have their staff meetings

I walked by without a glance

I noticed not one of the admirers

I was much too busy trying to hold onto the groceries in my arms

I am much obliged but this isn't a ghost story; I have no charms

I don't know what it is to be in love and free

I don't even know what it is to be me

For that reason alone, you are better off with another

I spend my days writing suicide under the covers

What do you want from meek me?

I don't have the money you'll need in this country

I have not the beauty you require of a trophy

I cannot even live without leaving a trail of bodies

But if somehow you do gather the balls to approach

I have a friend or two with whom you can ride coach

Or another; I think her engagement flew off the roof

And landed on a car; all mangled, twisted roots

Rebel nor riot but you cannot change my prerogative

Grabbing life by the lanterns has left me more than a little lost

I live here in the land of the forgotten

Because I bought a strip and named it "Havana Nothing"

All can go wrong within the minutes you greet me

You could have altered the course of history

Now you won't even meet your wifey

I am to blame; I'm the one who stopped completely

Even if it's platonic

I have heard that before; heroic

It is a common problem; periodic

And I am not a common child; a histrionic

Showed up to the relationship and handed a waiver

You can leave whenever you want; I don't want a savior

He never walked into my life

Never spoke to my gawker

And that is how I got myself a stalker

1
$ 0.00

Comments