I've packed my bags

2 19
Avatar for baned
Written by
2 years ago

I traveled to my parent's house on the 23rd of December, just as a normal tradition of most people, I also did practice the tradition. So today, it's time for me to leave and go back to my place at Abeokuta.

There were normal leaves, in the morning, late breakfast and then some drinks with my family members in the evening, with the normal family members who visited. I was also invited for a wedding reception of a close friend who got married to a lovely lady two months ago. For the reception, I was asked to speak on behalf of the groom and his family and that was pleasant from me since I love to speak. My day ended with a long drive back home but I enjoyed it while my host (my brother) was having fun driving. The journey was not long and I had arrived before the sun set down.

The moment I got home, i feel like taking a break from the hustle and bustle of the city and just have time with myself. And that's a good thing. Sometimes you need to get away from everything that's never been a part of your life yet. A lot of things are happening in the world, people are finding ways out of the current situation, some are escaping the reality or trying to live down the fact that they're broke. And that's why I'm here today to tell you how it feels like to be me right now.

Coming here to Lagos hasn't been so much of fun, the only thing I enjoyed from my trip to Lagos is the opportunity to visit one of my friend's family on the 1st of January. I usually don't go anywhere when I come home like this because I don't have any friend or any interesting place to visit. Only very few of things give me joy.

The only thing that gives me joy is the opportunity to see my friends and their families. I've had fun with my friends and their families but the only thing that has left me thinking is the fact that our economy has come to a point where a trip that would have taken about 2 or 3 years to accomplish a few years ago will take about 7-8 years now. This is the kind of economy we have, if at all we don't fix it fast, it's going to be worse for new generations.

I thought I'll leave some interesting things here for the people to read in case you'd like to come here. There are many things you can enjoy doing here in this city, such as going to any of the beaches, I love Elegusi beach, Bar Beach and so on, these are just some of the things one can do here.

I've packed my bags, and I'm leaving in the next hours to come visit you. I don't know exactly what I'll do when I arrive to your place, but I know that it'll be fun because you know how to make everything fun.

The paragraph above is exactly what I want to say to my beloved friend but I believe it's all going to be my fantasy for now.

Lead Image: unsplash.com

2
$ 1.42
$ 1.00 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for baned
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You really had cool time with your family and that's how it's supposed to be every festive season especially Christmas seasons. Unlike me too, anytime I go home I hardly visit People because I have just few friends. The family People that would see me outside always quarrel me because I ought to go out visiting them one by one. I don't have that kind of capacity for such movement

$ 0.01
2 years ago

...yes that's great friend....you can have fun with your family ...it is called family reunion ...it is seldom to happen so use that opportunity to thanks 😊 your family

$ 0.01
2 years ago