Will you keep working even after your retirement?

1 32
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

Retirement is a misunderstood terminology. I personally think that it differs from person to person on what they want in their life. Some people want to just have a peaceful life living with the money they earned throughout their life. Some people want to switch from the proper day job and do a freelance kind of thing. Some people want to still continue working but be their own boss.

I used to sometimes wonder what I really want to do after my retirement. But before that, it is important to first try and understand when I actually want to retire. The first thing that comes to my mind is financial freedom. When I can reach financial freedom even right now, I would be happy to retire and start doing things I like the most. For me, retirement is something where I stop running behind money and start spending the money.

Source

Financial freedom

For most people, financial dependency is the main reason why they still continue to work even after they are 60 years of age. When I talk to people they express their thoughts saying that they would quit their job if they reach financial freedom. Be it someone in their 30s or someone in their 50s. I would say someone in the 30s shouldn't be thinking this way. The reason is that they are still young and even after financial freedom, their thirst for money will not stop. They have to channel it either somewhere else or otherwise, they will end up losing whatever they earned. These are just my personal thoughts.

There can be some clever people who live a peaceful life after their 40s reaching proper financial freedom. They would have earned enough money to be self-sufficient. In fact, they would even start spending their lifetime earnings from then on.

Source

Working after retirement

I would recommend this because people should never stop working. The idle mind is the devil's workspace. If we keep our minds idle, we will start getting so many unnecessary thoughts. I personally have experienced depression and all negative thoughts for keeping my mind idle. We all know we would be facing our death one day or the other. There is no harm in having a routine even after our retirement. For some people, their job is the best thing that makes them keep going.

I have had this conversation with my father and he keeps working even after his 60 years. When I asked about this, he told if he quit his job, he would get lazy and start getting all sorts of health issues. So he keeps going and tries to stay as active as possible.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote @balaz as a Hive Witness
Vote @kanibot as a Hive Engine Witness



Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

7
$ 3.51
$ 3.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

Comments

If I would retire early I might keep working, but if I retire at 67 like I am supposed to there is no way I will keep working, there are plenty of things to keep someone busy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago