Trying out Swap feature on Keychain

0 25
Avatar for bala41288
6 months ago

We all know how useful Hive Keychain is for Hive Users. It is a nice browser extension where we can do most of the wallet activities. Slowly the team is introducing features into the keychain that not only cover the wallet features but also some other features. A few days back swap feature was introduced on Keychain. This is a facility to swap our cryptocurrencies from one to another with just one click.

For the users, this will be a one-click experience but internally there will be multiple steps involved and that would be handled in a way that is invisible to the end user. I have to be honest in saying that this was one of the most awaited features for me personally. Sometimes I would like to do some swaps but I have to log in to Tribaldex and do it. There was no straightforward facility available. I used to be lazy at times to do this. This feature is not only helpful to swap Hive and SWAP.HIVE but also to swap Hive and HBD which is again a cool thing.

Today I was very curious to see how this feature works and how I can make use of this feature. I always preferred using the old internal market to swap from HBD to Hive or from Hive to HBD. Now with this facility, I can do everything from the keychain itself and I don't have the burden of logging into another application to do this. I hope this feature will reach mobile applications too in the near future so that it becomes very handy to use it in the mobile. I'm sure many people will love this feature because when I trade some crypto with friends, they usually want to have it in a specific currency and mostly it is HBD or Hive and I have to keep looking for the internal market to do this. With this feature in the keychain extension, it is going to be handy.

I was testing it with some BEE tokens. I wanted to see how fast I could convert the BEE tokens to SWAP.HIVE. More than the time taken to convert, I was concerned about how good the user experience was. I was very happy that it took me just two navigations to complete it and in the third navigation window, I was already able to see a confirmation saying that the swap was successful. I'm okay with the swapping of the tokens because internally I guess it would be using diesel pools but I'm wondering how they are handling Hive to SWAP.HIVE and how they pick the service with the lowest cost.

After the swap was done the notifications were pretty much instant. Internally the coin first goes to the account @keychain.swap and from there we get the corresponding converted tokens. It is nice that they have managed the internal transfers and conversions too without any hassle. The internal layer is transparent to the users.

As I said earlier, I would like to see this feature soon on mobile devices too and I'm very happy that the team is working on interesting features like these I have also had some nice experiences reporting issues to them and they were able to provide fixes to the issues in consecutive updates.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote@balazas aHive Witness
Vote@kanibotas aHive Engine Witness



1
$ 0.00
Avatar for bala41288
6 months ago

Comments