Surprisingly pleasant experience with Paypal

1 32
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

When I say Paypal is not the best payment gateway, I'm sure there would be a lot of people agreeing with me. I have had several bitter experiences in the past and recently a few months back my account was locked and I was unable to even contact support. But then later a few days back I decided I want to deal with this problem and somehow tried contacting the support and they resolved it within 2 working days and I felt really amazed. Read the full article to know the full story.

I joined PayPal in 2008 if I'm not wrong. During those days, it was the only option to get foreign funds credited to our account. The fees used to be huge but at least I was happy that I was able to get foreign funds credited to my account. I used to do freelance work on Upwork and Freelancer.com back then. The payments from the clients used to be in USD and I connected my Paypal account to receive the credits to my bank account. It was all good and I know the fees were high but no big complaints because it was going smooth.

Source

I was not using my Paypal frequently after that and only recently did I want to reinstate my account and check the status. My bank account connectivity was still intact but I had to do some updates to my account signing up myself as an individual Business person or something. It was more like doing a KYC once again. I noticed that the bank account was still connected and I was going to receive funds from someone. I found out that Paypal usually transfers the funds automatically to the bank account. During the early days, there was an option available to keep the funds in the PayPal internal wallet and then transfer it to others if we want. Looks like that option is not available now.

When the transfer happened to my PayPal account, they were unable to send the funds to my bank account it seems. There was some name mismatch which they did not find out earlier. They sent me a Demand Draft to my home address within a few days. My Paypal account started reflecting a negative balance of around 4$. This was madness. I started getting some emails to fix this issue but there was no proper option for me to do so. I tried a few things and got fed up and left it as it is.

I guess all this happened last year. After that, my account was locked and I could not even log in to the account to resolve the issue. There was no option to even message any customer care agent. They asked to log in to message a customer care agent. I did not have any ways to explain to them that my issue itself was with the login. It was so stupid. But recently a few days back when I was making some payments using the Paypal gateway, I found out that they had blocked my account. I had to deal with them again. Luckily there was an option available for me to chat with their agents.

To my surprise, they told me they would resolve my issue in the next two days and I would receive an email confirmation on the same. I received a 4$ credit from Paypal on my account and the issue was resolved. I'm already thrilled with this and they said as I'm a privileged customer for a long time, they wanted to do this it seems. But I did not understand what was the issue in the first place. But I'm happy with the resolution. Yesterday I received a call from someone representing Paypal to help me understand what happened and they apologized for all the inconvenience I had. That call made me feel good about Paypal. Hoping they would focus more on making the user experience better in the future too.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote @balaz as a Hive Witness
Vote @kanibot as a Hive Engine Witness



Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

Comments

I don't have a PayPal account my friend. I planned it but still I forgot. Now I can say that PayPal is good based on your article my friend. I'm planning now you create a PayPal account. Thank you my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago