Splinterlands - Rental markets are not fully passive income

0 26
Avatar for bala41288
9 months ago

Splinterlands is a game not only for players but also for investors. Some people might think that there are 100% passive income opportunities available inside Splinterlands. I wanted to give some clarity on that with the help of this article. I understand that there are several passive income opportunities available in Splinterlands but Rental markets and rental income is not 100 percent passive in my opinion. That's what I wanted to cover.

There are many people playing this game regularly for income and there are people making use of opportunities to invest and try to grab some income from the game. There are a few ways in which we can just invest and get passive income. But there are a few ways similar to rental income that can look like a passive income but it would need our involvement to increase the income percentage.

Managing rentals on Splinterlands

Currently, splinterlands provides two rental markets. One rental market has been there for a while which is renting out extra cards to other players. Some people do this seriously because most of the time there is a demand for sound cards and people pay in DEC. During the early days of the card rental market, there used to be a great demand for cards. Especially the cards that are with better stats would have greater demand.

I used to wonder how this can be a full passive income. The reason is that there is a huge effort in adjusting the price of the cards in the market. That's one of the toughest tasks that someone has to do to get good returns from renting out cards. Today we have some automation tools available that help in managing the splinterlands collection. I use Splex.gg to manage my cards. In recent months the returns are not very great and I thought it is not a good time to expect a decent income from our assets. This income may not be 100 percent passive because there is some effort for us to update and manage the cards.

After the recent downtrend in the card rental income, I thought it can be better to maybe play the game instead of using the cards in the rental market. Some friends expressed their opinion that even income from playing the game has gone down comparatively so it may not be a wise option to play the game. I thought of hiring someone who would be willing to play my account. I would like to see a few more months before taking such decisions.

Rental income from SPS delegation

This is the new market that was introduced recently. I thought this would also be a fully passive income opportunity where we can delegate our SPS and forget about it and keep receiving the passive income in the form of DEC rewards. But the sad thing about this SPS delegation is that the delegation is not sent back to the delegator after the 7 days period is over. I don't know why the team has kept it like that.

When I experimented with SPS delegation rentals, I picked up a few bids that were very small amounts and filled lots of such bids. The painful part was when I had to manually undelegate them when the rental period was over. In a way it helps people renting SPS because there is a high possibility that some people might forget undelegating their SPS, people who are renting can enjoy some extra delegation given to them for an extra period. This is one of the biggest advantages here.

The painful and management part for the delegators is that they have to remember to spend some time and undelegate after the rental period is over. One good thing is that Splinterlands provides a good indication on their website about this. This also thought me a lesson that I shouldn't be filling out small bids and mostly should be focusing on bigger bids. This way undelegation becomes easier.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote@balazas aHive Witness
Vote@kanibotas aHive Engine Witness



1
$ 0.00
Avatar for bala41288
9 months ago

Comments