Sadly my laptop CPU is not supported for a Windows 11 upgrade

2 29
Avatar for bala41288
2 years ago

I read somewhere that Windows 11 upgrade is being pushed to many users who are currently using Windows 10. I was so excited and wanted to check if my laptop was compatible or not. I quickly opened windows updates and found out that my laptop was not supported for the upgrade. I was thinking that I had one of the most powerful specs and the laptop was intact for all my use cases. It is very sad right now to see it is not supported for the upgrade.

I wanted to do a deep dive to find out what was wrong with my specs and why the upgrade was not supported on my laptop. Microsoft asked me to download an application called Health Checkup to verify this. I downloaded that software and ran a health checkup and found out that my CPU is not supported. I have an Intel Core i7-7700HQ CPU with a decent speed of 2.8 GHz.

It appears that my laptop processor belongs to the 7th generation and it is not supported for the upgrade. When I quickly went and checked the supported CPUs, I found out that Microsoft supports only till 8th generation it seems. I know my PC is quite old but it is still good with all the upgrades I have done. My processor is also very good and there is no need for me to upgrade this processor. It is a shame that Microsoft is not giving this upgrade for older generation processors.

I was curious to check if there were any hacks available online and I found out that there were quite a few articles suggesting how this can be bypassed and installed with a Windows 11 ISO file or by changing the registry. I was also curious to do it but later I thought that it can be a little risky because there is no guarantee that Microsoft would be pushing updates after that. There is a small risk that we might end up getting no support from Microsoft if anything goes wrong if we force an update on laptops that are incompatible.

I'm happy right now to keep going with just Windows 10 itself as long as there is support. I don't see any specific feature in windows 11 that would make me say that I really want to upgrade. I see a lot of improvements in Windows 11 anyway but I'm hoping someday Microsoft would support the 7th generation as well or I will switch to a new laptop if I need any further hardware upgrade.

I also have a thought to completely switch to Linux but I'm still using windows because it was shipped to me along with the laptop. Maybe I will soon install Linux alongside windows and start using it fully for better performance. Especially my development work will be highly comfortable if it is Linux. I have to bring this thing to the top of my To-do list.



Posted with STEMGeeks

5
$ 1.43
$ 1.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for bala41288
2 years ago

Comments

If you have never used linux, I do not recommend this system. It's probably better to change the computer. In my opinion, it's worth it because this operating system is really great. In addition, you can buy a license very cheaply in this store. I bought there myself and I really recommend the store: https://royalcdkeys.com/products/windows-11-pro-retail-cd-key

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess you can switch to Linux. It's so amazing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago