Natural mosquito repellent

5 34
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

In the place I live, the mosquito problem is one of the biggest problems we have. Many people get sleep disorders because of mosquito bites and just because they cannot sleep properly in the presence of mosquito bites. I was looking for some natural remedies. There are coils and electric solutions available but this one was very attractive and I wanted to give it a try. I usually don't open my windows and doors to get rid of mosquitoes but that reduces ventilation in the house.

It's been two days since I purchased this. I got this from Amazon and the delivery was pretty quick. I have used camphor as a solution even in the past. I used to keep some camphor in hot water and let it evaporate. But then the effect was not very great. Then recently when I was watching some videos online, I found someone using this as a solution and it was very attractive. I also wanted to give it a try.

The material is basically china clay and was available for a little over 2$. They also gave a small candle along with that. The purpose of this was not to handle mosquitoes but to spread aroma in the house. People basically pour oil on top of it with some aroma oil mixed that makes the environment really pleasant. I instead used water filled with a few camphor pieces. The idea is to make camphor evaporate for the heat coming from the inside. There will be a lamp burning from the inside that will heat the water on top of it and also burn and evaporates the camphor. Simple but effective solution for mosquitoes.

There are a few drawbacks to this idea. The first one is patience. Yeah, we need a lot more patience every day to clean and maintain this. I'm using an oil lamp inside instead of a candle lamp. The reason is that oil lamps can keep going for some extra time than candle lamps. Once this goes off the effect will be there only for some time. After that mosquitoes will start coming. But I'm thinking maybe after keep doing this every single day, we might be able to get rid of the mosquitoes completely.

Science has evolved so much these days but it is a shame that we couldn't find a scientific remedy for mosquitoes yet. I'm really glad that we at least have these types of natural remedies. In the olden days, they used to have neem oil lamps throughout the house to fight insects and mosquitoes. I will only know if this solution worked only after using this for a few more months. Just a two-day experiment cannot help much.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote @balaz as a Hive Witness
Vote @kanibot as a Hive Engine Witness



Posted with STEMGeeks

3
$ 0.27
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Unity
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

Comments

I hate mosquitoes too my friend. It's really dangerous too because it will cause a dengue. Here in our country dengue is one of the most scary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah same here too. It is indeed a bit scary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend. It's really dangerous.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I often use citronella oil on my body to keep the mosquito's away at night, works quite well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

citronella oil

That's nice. I will give it a try. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago