My 2024 goal - Wishing for No Zero days in 2024

0 31
Avatar for bala41288
4 months ago

I have been planning a lot about how my 2024 should be. I wanted to be more productive in 2023 which I think I did compared to the previous year. The number of Zero days I had in 2023 is very limited compared to previous years. But sometimes I think it is not enough. I would like to have a goal for myself where there should be no Zero days in 2024. I'm not going to be very strict there but I'm going to aim towards that like how I have this habit of writing something every single day. There can be days where we might be sick and I wouldn't argue that those days shouldn't be Zero days. But thankfully I managed to make even those days non-zero days in 2023.

Zero day is the day when we don't feel like doing anything and we don't do anything related to our goals or dreams. I agree there are some days like that but even then we shouldn't be feeding our thoughts on those days. This article is going to talk about a few things we can try and do to make those days non-zero days.

Source

5 minute rule

This is not my idea but I grabbed it from one of the videos I watched on YouTube. For people who have a lot of dreams and would like to be very productive, this 5-minute rule should help. Whatever we do on a particular day, we have to allocate 5 minutes for our goals or dreams. If we are working on a dream project and if we are bored and don't feel like working today, this rule should apply. We have to just spend only 5 minutes on the project. Make it a practice that we shouldn't go to bed without thinking or making a 5-minute progress on our dream project.

This mostly applies to developers who have lots of dream ideas or projects they are working on. I would say it is good to just open the codebase and take a look around for around 5 minutes and see if a small code push can be done. Sometimes when we get started, there will always be a motivation and we might feel like continuing further. I usually break down my tasks into smaller ones and when I have some Zero days or bored days, I pick one of the easiest tasks from my list and complete that task. This way I can peacefully go to bed thinking that it was not a Zero day after all.

Making a note

Note-making itself is a great skill that would push us more towards our goals. We fear to work on our goals due to lack of clarity. Most of the time this is the case and we switch to some other task that is either easy or clear for us. Note-taking plays a very important role here. If we start making notes or breaking down our goals into small tasks and sub-tasks. It will be very easy to make some progress. Even on a bad date, we will still be able to make some great progress on our goals and feel happy about it before we go to bed.

When we have tasks in our head, they will keep popping up at unnecessary times and start disturbing us. Sometimes it can even be very stressful. If we have the habit of writing down our goals or our tasks and managing them every day, our minds can be stress-free and we can focus on other things. However, reviewing the notes several times a day is very important.

Source

No Zero days

This itself is a big task for anyone. I would like to see this as a routine. Every day I have to work on something productive that relates to my goals or dreams. This way I will also be making some progress and at the same time the motivation will not be lost and I can keep going forward. Currently, I'm keeping myself very busy and there are a few projects that I'm working on every single day. I'm happy about the way I have organized my work but not happy about the way I meet deadlines for my projects. Despite all these, there are a few days in the month that happen to be a zero day for me. I would chill without doing any work or even thinking of doing any work. This is what I would like to change and would like to focus on at least a small task on that particular day so that I can have a peaceful sleep after a couple of tasks are done to make me feel good that it was not a zero-day after all.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote@balazas aHive Witness
Vote@kanibotas aHive Engine Witness



3
$ 0.00
Avatar for bala41288
4 months ago

Comments