Is it worth to purchase 5G phones in India?

0 9
Avatar for bala41288
1 week ago

I had to buy a mobile phone for my parents. I was looking for a phone that was close to Rs. 10k (120 $) in India with enough features that can withstand for a few years. I decided to go either for Motorola G34 or G24. There are several reasons why I wanted to pick Moto phones. I have used a lot of Moto phones and it is impressive and I never had any complains. My parents had used a Moto phone before so I thought it would be the same for them from the usability perspective.

When I checked for some good phones in the market I had this as the top recommendation because the Motorola G34 had several very good features and the cost of the phone was also very decent. I was almost going to freeze this and purchase it but then I saw another phone which was pretty much similar expect that the phone did not have 5g. That is when I started digging to understand if 5g is that important.

Source

I understand that 5g is a very important feature for the future but at least for another 4 or 5 years, 4g will still be there and the speed 4g gives is pretty much decent and enough. My parents are not going to need a high-end or high-speed phone anyway. Just one concern is that I sometimes use their phone for data but yeah there again 4g is not that bad when it comes to data. These are some of the reasons that I thought I should just stick with 4g itself for now and maybe if I get a time where I have to upgrade my phone, I will go for a 5g handset.

JIO and Airtel are two mobile service providers who are currently offering 5g for free in India till this Diwali. It is expected that the price of 5g will be set after Diwali is over. This is how the revolution happened when Jio entered the market. Now again 5g is creating a great revolution as the providers are giving free data. The check here is that not all the places have a 5g facility. If we are lucky and if we have a tower nearby that gives 5g, we don't need additional data connection till Diwali. We will know the price of 5g only after that.

I have tried 5g when I visited Neyveli at my cousin's house. It was a nice town where 5g towers were available but not enough people used 5g in that town so the speed was excellent. I remember testing out free Jio data back then during the launch in the same Neyveli township. I did not have an internet connection in my cousin's house but Jio data was excellent when it was launched and it was available for free with a great speed. Today again 5g is very good with even higher speed.

Source

I think that it can take some more time for 5g to stabilize in India and there is no rush yet to purchase 5g phones. There are still many places in India that doesn't have tower coverage and the signals are not very strong. There are also cities where 5g is excellent and free for now. I would go for a normal 4g phone for now if there is a huge price difference and purchase a 5g phone later. By purchasing Motorola G24, I was able to save close to Rs 4k because of an additional offer I got for my card. I'm sure my parents are going to be very happy seeing a new phone as they are getting this almost after 5 years if I'm not wrong. It is getting delivered tomorrow.

1
$ 0.25
$ 0.25 from Anonymous user(s)
A
Avatar for bala41288
1 week ago

Comments