How to overcome writer's block?

0 22
Avatar for bala41288
6 months ago

Writer's block is a very common thing and I'm sure any writer who is consistent in writing would have had this problem. The main problem comes only if you have boundaries set in your mind to decide what topics you are going to write about. If you have a free mind to write anything that comes to your mind, this problem won't matter. I definitely agree that mood plays a very important role when it comes to writing. On some of days, we won't feel like writing anything at all, and on some of days we might feel like writing a lot and nothing can stop us. The thought flow would be excellent.

I personally take a few steps to overcome writer's block.

Write and save articles for later

For some people, writing is always pleasurable. Whether you are a blogger or a writer who write on a specific topic, not all days are good days. You can always write more on the day you feel very good and save those articles for later. But being consistent is one of the greatest things that one should have. Some people save articles for later because there will be days when you would be gone out and there will be days when you might be on a vacation or there can even be days when you don't feel like reading or writing anything. These saved articles can be used on those days.

Source

Make short notes/hints for some topics

Many people ask me how I'm able to write every single day. The secret is I don't do everything on the same day. Most of the time the preparation for a particular article would have happened on a different date. Whenever something comes to my mind, I take short hints or notes and keep them safe. I keep revisiting my hints and short nodes whenever I find some time. Whenever some more thoughts come to my mind, I keep growing the hints and start making additional hints and at the end, I would have enough things to write inside an article.

Don't take writing as a pressure

It is obviously okay if you don't write anything on some days. I don't write on all the days either. If we don't feel like writing and skip writing, that itself will give us great relief. On some days I feel like writing more than one article and on some days I don't feel like writing at all. On the days I feel like writing more, I write more and keep that as a backup. On the days I don't feel like writing anything, I make use of the backup articles I wrote some other day. This way I still make sure I write something every day or at least make an attempt to write something every day. When I do this, I also make sure not writing articles doesn't become a pattern.

There is nothing wrong if we don't write every day. But writing every day is a good habit and that's one of the reasons why it is recommended to read every day and write something every day.

Source

Set soft goals and not hard goals

There is definitely no pressure that you have to fix some amount of words and achieve that. Sometimes I might have a topic in mind but may not have enough points to write. I will write whatever comes to my mind and save the remaining for later and later when I revisit the article again, I might have some more points and the size of the article would grow. Mood is imperative when it comes to writing. Write minimum words, don't write a big article when not in mood. If I don't have points for one article I usually pick an old article and develop the hints.

Sometimes the lack of motivation might be there but if I sit and start writing something the words would start flowing like a river and I continue going with those thoughts. For some of my favourite topics, it only takes nearly 10 minutes to complete an article because the points would keep coming into my mind continuously.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote@balazas aHive Witness
Vote@kanibotas aHive Engine Witness



Posted Using InLeo Alpha

2
$ 0.61
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for bala41288
6 months ago

Comments