Have you ever tried mining crypto?

0 22
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

Cryptocurrency mining used to be one of the craziest things a few years back. I don't know but I still hear that it is great for many people based on the coin they choose to mine. I thought I should share my mining experience and my knowledge of mining. There used to be a time when mining was really great. I had a few friends who wanted to mine Bitcoin. There were a few who were mining Ethereum daily and it was giving them a lot of returns. I guess this was about 5 years back. Only then I started getting familiarized with all these things.

I already felt that I was very late in this journey and when I saw a few friends investing a lot of money and mining crypto, I was very curious to understand more about this technology. After joining Steem Hive back then, I met someone who was also near my place and was mining ETH and a few other coins with the help of a grid setup at home. It looked like a normal computer but with some heavy graphic cards attached to it. I wanted to try out mining too. Only then I realized that I had a nice graphic card on my laptop and wanted to try doing some mining at home.

Source

I remember some of the coins I tried mining with my graphic card. I have to admit that it was not very easy. My laptop started boiling like anything and it wasn't favorable. Back then I was not using my laptop for anything other than gaming. Mining activity and gaming activity had the same effect because both heated my laptop like anything.

During the initial days, I remember mining BOID tokens by sharing my system resources for scientific research purposes. I don't even remember what happened to those BOID tokens. Then later I started exploring how I could mine ETH. The price of ETH was very good back then so a small mining activity on the laptop itself was pretty decent. Of course, I did not get my ROI back but it was a fun ride for sure.

My next mining experience was with MONERO I think. This was available in one of the software that I installed. I don't even remember what I did. Those were just gone and I did not cautiously maintain my wallet and claim those tokens. After a point, all the earnings from mining activities started getting less popular. One can say that it was the end of the mining era. Only a few people who had some free resources wanted to continue and get the rewards even if it was very less. The price of ETH also started pumping and the gas fees alone were very high.

My next biggest mining experience was with KOIN tokens. When Steem to Hive transition happened, there was also another blockchain under development which was KOINOS. They initially launched it as a token on the ETH chain and there was an application release that would help us mine the KOIN token. I was not very happy with the token and the fact that was launched on ETH. But they wanted to pick the popular chain to get started. I did spend some money and started mining some tokens. After a point, many people found out that mining was costlier than just buying the tokens from the market and they just left mining. I remember mining around 500 coins and leaving the game for others. I still hold those tokens and don't know what to do with them and didn't really have enough time to follow the project.

This is overall my mining experience. Many people choose to mine because it is a passive income for them. They don't have to do anything specifically but their grid will take care of giving them the necessary money.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote@balazas aHive Witness
Vote@kanibotas aHive Engine Witness


1
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

Comments