Frustrating when wrong crypto terminologies are used

0 26
Avatar for bala41288
8 months ago

I have seen this in several places where people refer to Cryptocurrencies in general as Bitcoin. Today I came across one such experience and it was very painful to see that. I'm not sure if it is only me or even others who have observed this but when we have conversations with our friends or other non-crypto individuals, they usually refer to cryptocurrencies in general as Bitcoin. I used to think that it just takes a straightforward reading to understand the difference between cryptocurrencies and Bitcoin.

I get frustrated only when I explain to people the difference and in spite of that, they still call everything Bitcoin. Someone would ask me "Hey how is your Bitcoin doing?". I answer them "My crypto things are doing good." I personally think that these are some people who would take ages to understand the concept of Blockchain, Bitcoin, and cryptocurrencies in general and they can even be the folks who would enter the crypto world very late.

I'm definitely glad that Namecheap is supporting cryptocurrencies. Today I was making a payment there with crypto and it was a seamless experience. I had to first add the funds to my account and make the payment with those funds. It was all good until I saw the above screenshot. I purchased the funds with Bitcoin cash but the message said Bitcoin Transaction completed successfully. I don't think even Namecheap understands the difference. They could have said, Cryptocurrency transaction completed Successfully or even the BCH transaction was successful because I bought it with BCH.

Challenges in onboarding

When websites like the above one make such mistakes, we cannot expect much from individuals too. People are ignorant and they are also hesitant to learn the right things. The technology has evolved so much and today it is hard to see someone still calling everything Bitcoin and assuming that the crypto world itself is something to do with Bitcoin only and nothing else.

When we go and talk to someone to onboard them, they obviously ask questions about Bitcoin but when we explain to them the difference, they would be hesitant to accept it after all the conversation for them is only a timepass and they would again start the same conversation when we meet them again after a long time. In spite of hearing all the differences we would have mentioned about Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency in General, they would still ask me "Hey how is your Bitcoin doing?"

From my experience, I would rather say not to waste time with such individuals. It is better to avoid them and focus on people who are grasping what we are saying and those who are interested in learning what cryptocurrency is and how Bitcoin is a part of it. Some of those interested folks might as well invest and get into the crypto ecosystem with pleasure.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote@balazas aHive Witness
Vote@kanibotas aHive Engine Witness


1
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for bala41288
8 months ago

Comments