Booking my profits on Unitech after almost 5 years

0 15
Avatar for bala41288
1 month ago

I used to be actively trading on the Indian stock market from 2017 to 2019. After that, I became a passive investor. I left my portfolio and didn't bother much to react to the price movements in the market. I had many stocks in my portfolio and when I had a look at the price of those stocks right now, it has doubled or tripled. Some of the stocks did not do very well or did not even reach the bought price in the last 5 years. Some stocks had reached a nice value but looks like I have not sold them at the right moment because they are down again.

Unitech is one stock I invested in about 7 years back and I did not care about it. It was sleeping in my portfolio and I thought some day it will become a very good stock. I had a similar expectation on Suzlon but I did not have any holdings with me. Suzlon is doing excellent right now and it is going to be having some great years ahead. It is still not too late to purchase Suzlon I believe. But I did not have any hopes for Unitech at all. I wanted to just sell off my holdings when the time was right.

I don't know what made me check my portfolio but in the last month, something made me check my portfolio to see how my stocks were performing. To my surprise, I noticed that Unitech was near its all-time high. I did not do the selling immediately but I waited for a day or two. Well, it was a mistake from my end otherwise I could have sold it for a better price. But I'm glad that I was able to sell it for around 14 Rupees which I had bought for 5 Rs back then. I should say it is close to 3X profit but had to wait around 7 years for that.

I have heard stories that waiting for many years has a good impact on some of the stocks. I have a few more stocks in my portfolio that have done well too for waiting many years. One of the stocks is a dividend-yielding stock. It has also done very well in the last few years and it gives me dividends regularly.

To remember my Unitech investment, I have to admit that I blindly invested and knew nothing about the company and even today I don't know much about the company and what it is capable of. It was during my initial days of stock market trading. The ideology that I had was that I shouldn't be investing in stocks with bigger prices because they don't have room to grow but small-priced stocks have huge room to grow and they become something with a good price. It was a stupid ideology during my first few days of trading. Today I understand the difference between small caps, mid caps, and large caps. But I'm glad that I was able to exit from this stock without any loss. That's a good thing to wait for 7 years and exit. Maybe if we compare it with inflation and all, it may not be a good return but I guess it at least covers the bought price.

1
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for bala41288
1 month ago

Comments